My Reviews (76)

Spiced Coffee Biscuits

Spiced golden syrup biscuits that are sliced into bars. Spiced with cinnamon and cloves then loaded with golden sultanas, these make a mean afternoon tea.
Reviews (76)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
MOIREBRI said:
Altered ingredient amounts. These were very good-- I'd just make a few changes to make them even better! Add about 3/4 cups extra flour to make sure the dough is "dough-y" enough, and chill for half an hour before trying to shape it. Make sure the coffee is strong so you get the flavour, and I added some ginger to add a kick to it. Also, these biscuits spread and puff up, so make sure there's about 2 inches between the long strips on the biscuit sheet-- I'd use two separate sheets.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: DOLFANCHICK1027
Thank you so very much for a recipe that really brings me back to my childhood. My mother used to buy these biscuits at for me the Danvers Port Bakery in Massachusetts as a treat! These are even better! I love love love them! What more can I say! I asked many people if they had heard of them and they had never heard of them.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: LADYJAYPEE
WOW! These are FANTASTIC!!! I love hermits, but I've never made them with coffee before. Holy cow did these receive a great amount of praise from the 20 people I served a double batch to. They were all gone. A definate keeper!!!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: CookingMama
These are wonderful. My husband used to get them in the north end. A part of Boston Ma. as a child with his parents. The coffee is what makes the flavour. Like a rich spice cake. He is so happy I found this recipe. He does want more raisin's next time
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Kabrimida
These truly are "the best". Chewy, moist, great combination of flavours. These are in my top 5 all time favourite biscuits. They turn out well every time.
 
27 Jan 2004
Reviewed by: TSTANKUN
These were very good-- I'd just make a few changes to make them even better! Add about 3/4 cups extra flour to make sure the dough is "dough-y" enough, and chill for half an hour before trying to shape it. Make sure the coffee is strong so you get the flavor, and I added some ginger to add a kick to it. Also, these cookies spread and puff up, so make sure there's about 2 inches between the long strips on the cookie sheet-- I'd use two separate sheets.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Little Old Lady
These cookies are delicious! Five tips I learned after baking them a few times: 1) Hermits are an antique cookie dating back to colonial times. White flour was not available until the late 1800s, so these taste wonderful w/ the original whole wheat as long as you get fresh flour. Whole wheat flour should not be bitter. If it is, it is rancid and should be replaced w/ a different brand. 2) The problem w/ the sticky texture is caused by the egg, probably a recent addition to the recipe. I made it w/o the egg & the dough was easier to handle, & results superb. 3) Don't mix the soda w/ the coffe. Put it w/ the dry ingredients so it retains its leavening power. 4) A tasty variation is to sub frozen oj concentrate & grated orange zest for the coffee. This version needs less sugar. 5) It can be made as a single 1/3" layer instead of strips, cooked a few minutes more, & sliced while warm, if you'd rather not fiddle w/ the dough. Also I agree w/ reviewers who recommend increasing the spices. These end up the tastiest "healthy" cookie I've ever had.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Kelmarpet
Much to my father's dismay, our local bakery outlet store (Freihofer's) discontinued making their Hermit Bar Cookies. I've tried several recipes and this comes the closest to the original. When I made them as bars, they never baked to the right consistency, so I tried them as drop cookies and they're perfect. (12 minutes per batch, same temperature - I also chopped the 1 cup raisins for better consistency). This will be a keeper in our family now for generations!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: Jessica Beek
Thank you so very much for a recipe that really brings me back to my childhood. My mother used to buy these cookies at for me the Danvers Port Bakery in Massachusetts as a treat! These are even better! I love love love them! What more can I say! Are these cookies East coast thing? I asked many people if they had heard of them (I live in California now) and they had never heard of them.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: ECHOX
WOW! These are FANTASTIC!!! I love hermits, but I've never made them with coffee before. Holy cow did these receive a great amount of praise from the 20 people I served a double batch to. They were all gone. A definate keeper!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes