My Reviews (737)

Spicy Blackened Salmon

Blackening fish in a frying pan is a particularly Cajun way of cooking. Make sure your kitchen is well ventilated, though, or do it outdoors!
Reviews (737)


26 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Nikki Filippone
Ok, so I discovered this recipe about a month ago, and it is SO absolutely delicious that I've been making it almost 4 times a week since! I have also discovered a few tips while making some better and some worse versions of this recipe. First, be SURE to skin the salmon. If you leave the skin on, the spices won't stick to the skin side of the salmon. Second, don't put the melted butter on the salmon immediately after removing the salmon from the refrigerator. This will cause the butter to harden (because the temperature of the butter will drop), and will cause the spices to cake off the salmon while it is being cooked. Third, don't butter and spice both sides of the salmon right away. After the first side is ready (brushed with butter, sprinkled with spice, and then drizzled with butter), place the fillet in the pan with the spice side down, and then butter and spice the second side. Fourth, don't let the salmon sit in one place in the pan, shake it around a little bit while it is cooking. If you don't, the spices will stick to the pan instead of the salmon. Now this is a tip for those of you who have salmon fillets that are thick (like mine always are). You are going to have to do several things in order for it to cook all the way through. After you drop the salmon onto the frying pan, reduce the heat to medium low, and COVER. After 6 to 7 minutes on that side, flip the salmon over and cover again cooking for another 6 to 7 minutes. BON APETITE!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: MARYANN4591
Blackened Salmon is my favorite and this recipe is great. I don't use butter though, I use olive oil and after blackening in the pan I transfer the salmon to a baking sheet and finish them in the oven.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Mar 2005
Reviewed by: MDORON5131
This spice rub is fantastic! I didn't use any butter at all. I just drizzled the salmon with olive oil before rubbing it with the spices. It still tasted great. I also broiled it in the oven for about 3 minutes per side, then squeezed some fresh lemon over the fish before serving. Yum.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: Cynthia Gaub
I had this type salmon dish at a local resturant on a ceasar salad. It was so good I wanted to duplicate it at home. After reading the comments I made some adjustments to the recipe and it was a HIT! (using olive oil instead of butter and I used garlic powder instead of onion powder and Cooked in the oven instead of skillet on ONE side only on broil for 5 mins then lower rack and lower temp (350) for another 8-10 mins and it was perfect.) Serve this on a bed of lettuce tossed with crutons, parmesan cheese and cesar dressing and it is fantastic. I got both of my boys to eat salad without complaint. Made lots of extra spice to save for next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: Karen Martell Bishop
This is about the only salmon recipe that we ever really use. It's fantastic. In fact, I mix the seasoning together in a double batch and keep it in a container in my spice cabinet. You can use it on chicken or steak too. It's just better than any prepared cajun spice from the store. You can lay it on lightly or heavily depending on your taste or mood. You can sprinkle it in soups and stews or chili. But it's especially good on salmon cooked exacly as this recipe says.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: Charlie69
Very, very good. I will certainly make this again. I only used 1 tablspoon of butter and I added about 5 tablespoons of "Smart Balance" low fat spread. I put it on aluminum foil under the broiler. I broiled both sides for about 5 minutes at 500 degrees each and then reduced the temp to about 350 for another 10 minutes. Hardly any smoke at all and the flavor was super.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: rnheo
VERY smokey, do not cook on high. I used med-high and it set off my smoke alarm. I would cook on low-medium. Otherwise very good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: JMANSAVAGE
Fantastic!!! You can avoid the "smokey house" effect by using peanut oil instead of butter, although it does change the flavor just a touch.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: Becky Home Ec-y
We loved this on Mahi Mahi. I reduced the butter, and substituted half olive oil. I also substituted lemon pepper for the pepper. 3 min. on each side for 1.25 " thick mahi fillets on Med-Hi was perfect. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: MOPLOPS
I am not usually a fan of cajun type spices...but this is excellent. It blackens nicely and has great flavor; not too spicy...just right!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes