My Reviews (40)

Easy Blackberry Cake

This is a beautiful treat to make in the summer after berry picking, or in the winter using frozen blackberries. Just as good for breakfast as dessert.
Reviews (40)


28 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: SANDSTEPPER
I read the other reviews before making this, and it is definately some sort of cake. I was actually looking for a cookie recipe, and found this recipe under that heading. As A cake I would rate this dessert a 4. I reduced the amount of cinnamon to 1/4, and the amount of vinegar called for to 1 tbsp, and added 1/2 tsp vanilla. I also used berry juice (Juicy Juice) instead of apple juice to strenghten the berry flavor of the batter, which I found worked very well. When I folded the berries in I allowed them to break up somewhat to add even more flavor to the batter, I also dusted the top with confectioners sugar, which presented lovely. This cake was fluffy and had wonderful rich berry flavor esp with the berry juice addition. I assume the reduction of the vinegar, allowed for better rising, and made it less dense then the others experienced. I suggest to anyone wanting a good breakfast cake, to try this with these changes it was very good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: Pamela Quinn
I modified this recipe quite a bit but it was a huge hit. I wanted to make blackberry muffins. I read the other reviews first and added another egg as well as a splash of vanilla. Instead of apple juice I used lemon juice diluted with water, and instead of just tossing in the blackberries I pureed half a cup of them and stirred that into the mix, and then placed a blackberry on the top of each muffin in the pan before baking. They are DELICIOUS. So soft, fluffy and my boyfriend says they are not as overwhelmingly sweet as other muffins (he says they are almost tart). This is such a great recipe. I am going to keep it around and modify it accordingly - next time I'll increase the spices and do an apple spice muffin, and maybe also a blackberry-lemon muffin. Yum!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Aug 2003
Reviewed by: CORRI420
This is more like a cake or a quick bread than a cookie, but I doubled the recipe, only adding half the vinegar like another rating had mentioned. Also, after reading how dense it seemed to be for alot of people, I creamed my sugar & butter, then added eggs & beat for around 3 mins so the egg whites would get nice & fluffy, then "folded" in all the rest. The results were outstanding!!! Made into cupcakes & frosted with cream cheese frosting. On my 2nd batch I added toasted walnuts, made it all the much better. Since I have such a hard time finding a moist zuchinni bread recipe, I'm thinking of trying that in the next few days. Turned out very moist!! Kids loved em'!!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: OKIEALICE
Taste was very good, but I found this cake-like dessert to be awfully dense. I think it would benefit from the addition of a leavening agent -- perhaps 1/2 t. soda to interact with the vinegar. Cream cheese frosting is a good idea!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: LADYRELM2
I, too, read all the reviews before trying this recipe. I took someone else's suggestions with the cinnamon, vinegar, vanilla, and Juicy Juice. This recipe came out AWESOME!! However, it was more like a muffin than a cookie. Next time I think I will make them as muffins (topped with confectioners sugar). Oh...one other thing....I also got the complaint about the seeds but they are blackberries so it has to be expected. I think this recipe would work wonderfully with any berry (raspberries, blueberries, cranberries, etc..)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: SNICKEL
I made this recipe into muffins. They turned out excellent. I coarsely pureed the berries. Add 1 tsp. baking powder to the recipe. I didn't have any apple juice, so used the same amount of applesauce. Instead of all the sugar, I used 1/2 cup sugar and 3/4 cup Splenda, just to cut down on the calories. It worked great. Hubby said they were extra delicious. YUMMMY!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Aug 2013
Reviewed by: AnnetteMarie
What type of vinegar do you use?
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
24 May 2008
Reviewed by: Pam Ziegler Lutz
This recipe was pretty good, but I had to increase the baking time to about 50 minutes to have the cake test "done". I used the toothpick test and at 40 minutes the cake was very wet inside. I followed the recipe exactly except that I used pear juice instead of apple (what I had on hand). I used freshly ground nutmeg, too. The flavor is good, and it's definitely a cake, not bar, recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Aug 2003
Reviewed by: NANETTE JENSEN
this was excellent but next time I will cook it a bit longer...eat it all the same day as it does not keep well with the freash berries
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
Comment:
23 Aug 2012
Allrecipes said:
Hi andlid, many thanks for your comment. We've clarified the recipe regarding the sugar. Hope this helps and thanks again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes