My Reviews (9)

Blackberry Jam Cake

If you've never cooked a jam cake before, try this one first! It's easy to make and delicious, especially when iced with cream cheese icing.
Reviews (9)


18 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: KATYPI
This is my first experience with any kind of jam cake, and I must say I'm mightily happy. Based on observations of other reviewers who said this cake was "dry" I added a 1/4 c of vegetable oil, and also added 1 c of raisins. I cooked this in a bundt pan for 55 minutes. Cake is delightfully moist and full of spicy aroma and flavor. It doesn't need any kind of frosting, though I suppose a little powdered sugar would be a nice addition. Thank you for this lovely submission!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: VAL ADAMS
I thought it was a little dry. I might add more jam, more milk, or use slightly less flour the next time I make it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: mzpris
Jo Ann's recipe is similar to my mom's. This cake is better when made ahead of time. After it has cooled completely, wrap tightly in foil and store in a cool place for several days. The cake will become very moist. It can also be placed in the freezer, then thawed in the foil wrap. It should be rewrapped after cutting and stored in a cool place or the fridge. We serve it with whipped cream or just by itself.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: Lindsey
Not very moist, but still very tasty!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Oct 2004
Reviewed by: ALMRN04
I forwarded this recipie to my Mom, who made it for "cards with the girls." It was a smash hit! She added some of the jam to the frosting for flavor and color. A hit!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: KATHLEEN_FUNKE
Yum!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: JoSmith
This was ok. It was a bit dry for my taste - I probably won't make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jul 2014
Reviewed by: Grumpy's Honeybunch
We aren't huge on cake eating here so I like to take cake recipes and make cupcakes - we like them much better! That was what I did to this recipe. I did cut the recipe in half and made a few changes. It sounds like from the reviews this recipe is pretty good to start so because I did make it with some changes I am giving it a rating of 4. I reduced the amount of allspice and cloves. The amount just seemed too much for our preference. I also made my own buttermilk with sour cream, apple cider vinegar and a little bit of almond milk. To frost I made a blackberry buttercream by adding blackberry jam to the buttercream I was making. Turned out pretty good - and I will definitely be sharing at the office tomorrow!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: Betty
Made this yesterday and is was delicious. Only problem was jam seemed to settle at the bottom of pan and was hard to get out. Any suggestion as to what I did wrong. Over mixed in jam?
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes