My Reviews (20)

Basil Oregano Loaf

The dough of this delicious herb loaf is mixed in a bread machine but is baked in the oven. I can't get enough of it!
Reviews (20)


Comment:
14 Feb 2011
Allrecipes said:
Thanks friar4. After checking the original submission, the amount of flour in this recipe has been corrected.
 
28 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: CINNAGIRL
I made this for an authentic Italian meal at school. It was a hit with the kids, I also made the Italian Butter on this site. Love the crusty outside and soft inside.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: FUXUEPENG
I love this bread, but I recommend few definite changes if you've got the time. Mix this is a mixing bowl, make a starter of half the flour, all the sugar, water and yeast. Let that starter sit for 30 - 45 minutes. Then add the rest of the flour, knead on medium for 10 minutes, then add the salt and herbs and knead for another 5 minutes. On a table shape the dough into a tight ball, then put in a plastic bag spayed with nonstick spray and let sit in the fridge over night. In the morning, punch it down, shape it, let it rise until doubled (around an hour), then bake as directed.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: BILLID
I have been searching for a good italian bread reciepe. I can't count how many I have tried. This was superb. I didn't use the basil or oregano because I wanted a plain loaf. It was exactly what I was looking for. Thank you.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: Anitamom
O.K. but nobody really liked it much. I will freeze it and use it for stuffing which I think will be very good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: PETRAD63
I tried this out for the first time to spice up some left over stew and it turned out great. This bread is fabulous with Bachelor's Stew (I found that on this website as well) My husband went back for a second helping of bread, he suggested to try this next time with onions and garlic. We'll see.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 May 2000
Reviewed by: WILLEYWEBHEAD
This is a very good bread.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Nov 2003
Reviewed by: IMP70
I added 1 tsp. powdered garlic to the bread. I mixedkneaded in my kitchenaid and used regular flour. The resulting loaf was very nice....good height and texture. I will try it again as a plain white loaf as well. A keeper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: pomplemousse
This is good. Not sure why recipe says to add seasonings at fruit nut beep though. I just dumped it all in at the beginning and it was fine. I made the loaf into an italian style loaf by rolling out the dough then rolling it back up like you do with baguettes, except made one long loaf out of it. Had some with olive tapenade and it was great, but also good plain. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Sep 2004
Reviewed by: WHITNEYB
YUM!! Reminds me of the wonderful bread that they serve at Macaroni Grill! Perfect for dipping with an herb infused olive oil. Thanks for sharing this recipe. I will make it everytime it's Italian night at our house.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes