My Reviews (20)

Raisin Bran Bread

Raisin bread is delicious already, but this recipe uses raisin bran cereal to lend extra texture. It's very simple to make in a bread machine.
Reviews (20)


11 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: Carol
This recipie turned out to be dry especially around the edges, you could not taste the raisins, but you could taste the brand (super strong) and that is all you could taste. My entire family didn't eat the bread.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: flutterby78
My mother in law makes great raisin bran muffins so I thought this would be good too. I was disappointed. Other than the raisins, it tasted nothing like raisin bran at all. But it did bake up nice and pretty!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: MEHUNGRY98
Yummy, dense bread - awesome toasted with butter and cinnamon sugar! I don't like the way my bread machine does bread, so I mixed this in my mixer with the dough hook, then let it rise in a loaf pan for 1 hour. Baked at 350 for ~25-30 minutes (could have gone longer, but I like doughy-er bread). Oh, and I added a liberal amount of cinnamon to the dough, as well Very dense and tasty.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: Mrs.Mack
My 1 year old son and I are eating this right now. Delicious! He keeps asking for more and I can't deny him because I want more, too. I inherited a bag of store-brand raisin bran from someone who was moving away—but there was a hole in it so it was stale. I searched online for a recipe to use it up and landed here, since it seemed easy and I had all the ingredients. It *is* easy and it tastes great! Especially when I took the advice of the other reviewers: I added 1 Tbsp of unsalted butter, 1 tsp of cinnamon, and a handful of extra raisins. Since this off-brand cereal had really large flakes, I crushed the cereal a bit in a bowl before measuring it out. Then I dumped everything into my bread maker, selected white bread, and let it do its thing. The bread came out moist and soft, and tasting like cinnamon raisin bread you buy at the store, only fresher since it was just baked. So good when eaten still warm with a spread of butter. Can't wait to try it as toast. I'll definitely make this again, even if I don't have any stale raisin bran cereal. PS, in my bread maker this came out as a 2 pound loaf in size, even though I didn't double the recipe. Keep an eye on yours if your breads tend to rise too much and touch the lid. ----- EDIT: My family and I ate nearly the whole loaf the day it was made. The next morning we made toast with it and were disappointed. Nice texture, but bland. Needs toppings to taste good. At least it tastes good fresh! I'll still make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: KEZ
I was looking for a way to use up the last bit of cereal in the box and came up with this recipe. I was about a 1/4 cup short on the bread flour and made up the difference with wholewheat flour. We had this for breakfast the first day and everyone loved it. The following day I used the last slices to make cinnamon toast and that was delicious too. Thankyou Bill.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: LAURAHONGKONG
This is EXACTLY what I was looking for. I didn't have raisin bran so I subbed a multi-grain cereal with raisins, dates, and pecans. Also added lots of cinnamon. Fabulous!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: Barbara
My picky family loved this bread!!!! Will definitely make this often!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: Kristin Pozniak
Great Bread! Made me feel like I was feeding my little son something healthy! I used Total Raisen Bran, it's fortified with so much, and a few extra raisins. I also replaced one cup of bread flour with wheat flour and it worked fine! Best if eaten the same day, the next day it's better toasted! Thanks Bill, we will make this a lot!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: Rita
I added a liberal amount of cinnamon and a TBSP of butter to this recipe. It was delicious and well-received. Especially good when toasted and buttered! Will definitely use this recipe again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 May 2007
Reviewed by: LINDAMAUREEN
We will have it again! A suggestion, add more raisons and cinnamon.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes