My Reviews (3,867)

Spiced Oatmeal Raisin Biscuits

These spicy oatmeal raisin biscuits make your kitchen smell wonderful while they are baking. Make sure you get some, because they don't last long!
Reviews (3867)


10 Oct 2012
Reviewed by: foodandunicorns
delicious!! i made this many times for my family and we LOOOVVVEE it!
 
19 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: MommyFromSeattle
Wow, look no further for THE BEST oatmeal raisin cookie recipe. I've tried 3 from this website and this one is the best- by a landslide. Husband said it was the best oatmeal cookies he ever ate, and his mom makes this for her speciality, and my cookies came out better. This is moist, chewy and perfectly sweet. I followed other's advice and used all butter, which gave a fantastic buttery flavor and this stayed moist for a good 3 days (maybe longer, don't know cuz it never lasts that long in our house). Just keep it in an airtight container. And definitely watch your cooking time. 9 minutes was perfect, 10 min. gave it more color and add more crispness to the edges. I like mine soft and moist and this gives it all--look no futher folks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: OCEANFLWR82
These were very tasty cookies, I added another half teaspoon of cinnamon, a half teasoppon of nutmeg, and a 1/4 teaspoon of ginger. I also used all butter. I only left them in the oven for about 8 or 9 minutes so they would stay chewy after they cooled. when I left them in for 12 minutes they were hard as a rock when they cooled off!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: annmariet
I did some checking and found that this recipe is pretty much the same that is printed by Quaker oatmeal. The only difference is the addition of cloves. I have been baking for years and have always relied on this recipe. The only change I make is to use pumpkin pie spice for a bit more kick. Thanks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jun 2003
i've made this recipe dozens of times since I first found it on Allrecipes. This is not the same recipe as the Quaker Oat cannister. That is the recipe I use to make. I double checked. Of course there are similarities, butter, sugar, oatmeal, etc. What Beth changes makes all the difference. The use of butter flavored shortening gives moistness and the cloves give great flavor. These are far superior to the recipe on the oatmeal box. They are the most delicious cookies. They have just the right amount of spice and crispy moistness. I would definitely use butter and not margarine. The taste is not the same adn studies are now showing margarine is no healthier than butter. Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe, Beth. If you can come up with this great recipe, you should become a cookbook writer.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: JADEDPLASTIC
Oh. My. God. These cookies are delicious! I did make a few changes though. I didn't have butter-flavored shortening, so I just used regular shortening and added 1/2 tsp of butter flavoring. Also, a soaked the raisins in hot water first to plump them up, substituted allspice for the cloves, and dumped in a package of instant vanilla pudding to make the cookies moister. The result? One fabulous cookie!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: LEXINOLE29
BETH!! I NEED HELP!! YOUR RECIPE IS AMAZING..BUT I THINK I MESSED IT UP!! I made the recipe exactly how the instructions say except I used all butter and no shortening like the others. I also uses golden raisins. When my cookies came out they were soft and perfect but they never HARDENED...this was to the point that they all broke apart and fell through the cracks of my cooling rack. I mean, I love soft cookies, don't get me wrong, but you couldn't even pick these up without them falling apart. It was almost like they didn't cook. I was also baking them for well over the time suggested (13-15 minutes). When I tried to salvage them into a container they formed into this big DELICIOUS block of oatmeal mess! The only thing I can think of is that I put the dough in the fridge prior to baking them for about an hour because I had to run out. Is that the problem?? I didn't know that this could make a difference. Is it possible that my eggs or flour or something was too old or maybe bad? I can't imagine that, but at this point I am desperate! The cookies were seriously amazing (hence the 5 stars), and I want to make them again, but I need them to hold their shape and somewhat harden! Please please will someone help me? Thank you in advance!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: Debbie from Annapolis
I make awesome cookies, but I never had a good oatmeal raisin recipe. This one is it! I used all butter flavored Crisco instead of using any butter (butter tends to burn in cookies). I also soaked my raisins in warm water for 10 minutes before I added them to the dough. Use the convection feature on your oven (If you have one). Never grease or spray the pan (causes bottoms to burn). Wipe the tray off between batches. These cookies were soft and chewy with fabulous flavor!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: Jessie
This is THE SAME RECIPE as on the Quaker Oats container - the only difference is the addition of cloves. The cookies turned out soggy and horrible. Never again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: DakotaS20
THE BEST cookie I have EVER tasted! I actually made an oatmeal mix for a trip I was going on that used cloves and cinnamon just like this recipe. I ended up not liking the oatmeal but didn't want to waste it, and when I came accross this recipe I was thrilled that it used the same ingredients! So I ended up making this cookie without changing anything, except using 1 cup of butter. BUT, my oatmeal recipe did have 1 1/3 cups dry milk powder in it and I thought it might alter the cookies a little, but they turned out UNBELIEVABLE!!!!! So basically I doubled the cookie recipe, used all butter, and had 1 1/3 cups dry milk powder mixed in also!! THEY TURNED OUT SOOOO DELICIOUS!!!! I have DEFINATELY found my favorite oatmeal cookie recipe! I baked for 11 minutes each, and saw melted butter on the top when I took them out, but when they cooled overnight they ended up nice and chewy in the morning. TASTE LIKE BAKERY STYLE!! EVEN BETTER!! MMMMMMM I would give 100 STARS!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes