My Reviews (1,846)

Tuna and Pea Pasta Bake

This is a great and filling recipe that is very easy to throw together. The potato chips give the bake a crunchy crust.
Reviews (1846)


16 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Rhystan8
This was just lovely. A nice blend of flavours. This would feed the multitude, economical and filling. Ticks all the boxes.It doesn't pretend to be Masterclass its just good economical comfort food....without all that fat, bacon or garlic in most comfort foods. Thankyou for sharing, I have tried lots of tuna recipes and this is right up there.
 
13 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: Spareparts
A really good recipe, although when you make it it looks a little mushy it turns out AMAZING. I added about 1 tablespoon of garlic to it and i also added more cheese to the topping
 
27 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: LAURAROXANE
I made this last night and it was delicious. Used a prior reviewer's suggestion and made it in a round 2-qt casserole dish instead of a 9x13-inch pan, to avoid having a dry casserole (other than that I followed the recipe exactly). Like previous reviewers have commented, it was just a tad on the dry side. Wasn't so dry that my fiance and I didn't enjoy eating it (it was really tasty!), but could use about half a can more soup. I used red onions which made for a colorful dish. I will definitely be making this again - it's a keeper - but next time I'm going to add 1/2 can more soup to it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: MargieB
Overall the receipe is very good. As indicated by others, it was dry. Considering using a whole bag of noodles, I did add another can of soup and 1/2 cup of milk. Next time I make this, I think I will add sour cream in addition to the extra can of soup and milk, the mixture really needs to be pretty soupy when baked, since the noodles soak up so much of the liquid. Where did the cayenne pepper substitute come from, I didn't see it in the receipe, although it would be a good addition. Thanks for the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: Mollycurls77
Very Good! I usually just "wing it" when it comes to making tuna casserole, but there is a first time for everything, and I actually followed a recipe this time! As other reviewers stated, I too added some milk to make it more creamy. I then added about a 1/4 cup of miracle whip as well for a little zip, then I did my usual doctoring with onion and garlic powders. Instead of using potatoe chips on top I used crushed crackers that I pulsed a few times in the food processor with some melted garlic butter. The end reult was a very yummy tuna casserole.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: SHARON WHITE
I ENJOYED THIS TUNA CASSEROLE. I PREPARED IT FOR MY MOTHER AND I AND IT WAS ENOUGH FOR AT LEAST 6 PEOPLE. AFTER READING THE REVIEWS ABOUT THE CASSEROLE BEING DRY AND BLAND, I MADE SOME ADJUSTMENTS. I USED A FAMILY SIZE CAN CREAM OF MUSHROOM SOUP, I PUT A LITTLE EXTRA SALT IN THE BOILING WATER THAT I COOKED THE NOODLES. I MELTED 1.5 STICKS OF BUTTER IN A SAUCEPAN AND SAUTED MY ONIONS BECAUSE I DID NOT THINK 20 MINUTES WOULD GET THEM AS TENDER AS I PREFER. OF COURSE, I ADDED THAT BUTTER TO THE MAKING OF THE CASSEROLE AS WELL. I INCREASED THE AMOUNT OF ONION CALLED FOR IN THE RECIPE TO HALF OF A LARGE ONION. I USED SHARP CHEDDAR CHEESE AS WELL FOR ADDED FLAVOR. I INCORPORATED ALL THE CHEESE INTO THE CASSEROLE AND JUST USED CRUSHED POTATO CHIPS ON TOP. I DID NOT DRAIN THE TUNA, I USED THE JUICE AS WELL TO HELP WITH THE BLAND TASTE THAT WAS MENTIONED IN SEVERAL REVIEWS. I REDUCED THE OVEN TEMP TO 350 DEGREES AS WELL TO KEEP THE CASSEROLE FROM DRYING OUT AS MUCH. THE RESULT WAS EXCELENT!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: DREGINEK
I have never been a tuna casserole fan but when I saw the name of this one, I though I HAD to give it a try! I am so glad that I did!! I used a 12oz pkg of regular shell noodles and instead of peas (I have never been a pea fan either), I used a drained jar of diced pimentos. This was indeed the Best tuna casserole I have ever had and my family agreed. Wil be making again!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: Jayna
It was good. I would suggest, however, that you mix all the cheese in the casserole as it dries out to quickly on the top. Also, I used crushed herb flavored pretzels mixed with seasoned croutons instead of the potato chips and it was fabulous.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: Dee Dee
Not a big hit with my 2 year old nephew, but everyone else loved it! I doubled the tuna, added another 1/2 bag of noodles, and added a can of Cheddar Cheese Soup. I used buttered bread crumbs instead of the potato chip topping. It tasted exactly like the frozen dinner Tuna Noodle Casserole that I love!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: HEIDAROOO
I'm not a big fan of Tuna casserole but I gave this one a try, with a few modifications it came out a 5 star recipe. My father in law told my mother in law to step aside and let me cook it from now on. He told everyone it's the best F'n Tuna casserole he's ever had.... I guess that about sums it up : ) This is what i changed, I seasoned the mixture with johnnys, I did NOT add mushrooms, I used one can of cream of mushroom and one can of cream of celery, i sauteed the onions in a little bit of butter and also some celery, I added some canned corn in addition to the peas and more cheese to the mixture than it calls for. Best I have ever had.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes