My Reviews (447)

Easy Moist Chocolate Cake

You will find this cake rises nicely and has great texture. If you prefer more sweetness, ice it with chocolate icing or add some chocolate chips to the mix.
Reviews (447)


04 Mar 2017
Reviewed by: FeleciaBurke-Aiken
five stars i added 4 tablespoons of chia seeds with half a cup of water and 2 table spoons of instant coffee and it turned out great
 
14 May 2009
Reviewed by: Karin
I am rating this recipe 5 stars after I have made a change or two. I bake this for weddings every weekend and have never had a complaint, only rave reviews so I guess this recipe speaks for itself. Substitute the baking soda with baking powder and add an additional quarter cup of milk......Best ever!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 May 2005
Reviewed by: OCENE525
I made soe changes after reading reviews and cake came out moist and chocolatey. I used 1 cup milk and 1/2 cup boiling water. I used two squares hereshy unsw chocolate and 3tbs cocoa dissolved in in the water. I added 1 tsp baking powder. With adjustments a great chocolate cake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 May 2003
Reviewed by: ME ME57
I'm with Tianne on this one. We did not like this cake at all. It was very bland and not sweet or chocolatey at all. It raised very nicely and had a good texture, but that's about all I could say about it. I poked holes all over it and melted some frosting and poured it over it to add some sweetness. I then put a ton of frosting over that. I really expected a great cake with the ratings. I was very disappointed.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: GabrielaM
Huge success among my friends! A really nice cake so moist and fluffy :D Important: It really needs to be cooked for 60minutes, 45 just won´t do it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
25 May 2003
Reviewed by: TRISTIA
Great chocolate cake! I made a little change though- instead of using cocoa, I melted 1 1/2 cups chopped milk chocolate and semi sweet chocolate chips, and made an icing of melted chocolate, butter, a squeeze of orange juice, splash vanilla and powdered sugar. I'll definately make it again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jun 2001
Reviewed by: SUNNYBUNNY
I'm only 12 and made it by myself - it was so good. I used white cream icing on it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: RTWELLS
This is absolutely THE BEST cake I have ever made! It was even better than a Betty Crocker mix. I paired it with the Chocolate Frosting submitted by Tianna.....delicious! Even my husband, who doesn't like sweets, LOVED it. This will be THE chocolate cake I make from now on.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Dec 2012
Reviewed by: Gal_racer
Oh my god!!! I stumbled across this recipie whilst I was looking for a gooey chocolate cake & have never ever been so happy lol. Whilst pregnant I wa addicted to cake & this cake really hit the spot. I have made this cake 10+ times over the past 4 (ish) months & everyone that has tasted it couldn't believe it was a home made one. I must admit I am slightly naughty & make a choccy butter icing & decorate it with big choc buttons so it's literally death by chocolate & I'd dread 2think of the calories but who cares the cakes amazing! Thank u 2 who ever posted this recipie.....I'm forever in your debt!!! Xxx
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
21 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: SamanthaSealy
I made this exactly to the recipe and used the giant cupcake silicone. Best chocolate cake I ever made. This will be my recipe of choice for future chocolate cakes. Fantastic!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes