My Reviews (57)

Tomato Sauce for Pasta

This is a basic recipe for vegetarian tomato sauce for pasta. It's very quick to make and showcases the tanginess of the tomatoes.
Reviews (57)


20 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Jillian
Very good sauce - I did however cut the amout of onion down to 1/4 cup though and sauteed that along with the garlic and celery in olive oil instead of veg. oil. I also used one can of crushed tomatoes instead of one and a half - I mean what's the need of opening up an extra can. This really makes enough sauce. I had fresh basil on hand so I subbed that for the dry. This is a very thick sauce so if you're like me and don't want it as thick add 1/2 cup of white wine or water. A number of reviewers commented on this sauce being "tangy", that comes from the acidity of the tomatoes. To combat that I always add about 1 Tbsp. of brown sugar. I let the sauce some to a boil for a few minutes, then let it simmer for a couple hours. It's great over angel hair pasta!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Oct 2012
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
I increased the oil a touch and use EVOO instead of vegetable oil. I didn't want to measure out the onion, I used one medium sweet onion. After tasting the sauce once it had time to simmer, I did add more basil and oregano because it didn't seem to be enough for me. This was a nice, basic marinara that was a bit on the thicker side. It went well over ravioli.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: LEE THRASH
Makes me think I should never use sauce-in-a-jar again! Easy, quick, and, yes, hearty. Even the husband liked the meat-free menu with this sauce! Will make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: WEBBITCH
This was great. I had been looking for a nice marinara that wasn't in a jar. It was really thick so I did add 1/2 cup water and I also added a little sugar. Yum!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Nov 2003
Reviewed by: KATHYLEEN
Great basic marinara! I use it frequently. I do make additions to suit my tastes, a bit of sugar, a can of diced tomatoes, sauteed mushrooms, more garlic. Possibilities are endless.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: KVN052403
This was fantastic. I used a combination of crushed & diced tomatoes. I had to add a little water to thin it out, but otherwise this was PERFECT. Thanks for making me look like a pro!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: LORRIE_T
Pretty good, but not the best I've ever had. Tangier than I prefer.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Deborah Norris
I like this recipe I just substituted celery salt and used whole canned tomatoes and used a hand blender to make it the consistency I liked. Seasonings to me and family were right on target.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: jwooten
This was amazing! My entire family loved it. The only things I changed was to add a tablespoon of sugar, added a small zuccini (I don't like meat sauces), and didn't drain the tomatoes. Even the meat lovers in the house enjoyed (and got full from) this sauce, which I served with rotini.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Pam Ziegler Lutz
Very good and quick! I cut the recipe to 4 servings as I only needed a dipping sauce for munchies. This went over very well. It couldn't be quicker to throw together.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes