My Reviews (745)

Light Blueberry Cobbler

This is an excellent light dessert that isn't too sweet. If you prefer you can substitute another fruit, such as raspberries, blackberries or peaches. Serve with whipped cream or vanilla ice cream.
Reviews (745)


27 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: Peanutty
I've made this recipe a few times now and must say that the addition of cinnamon both into the berry mixture and cobbler batter really makes this recipe pop. I add about a 1/2 teaspoon to each, but also increase the amount of berries to 5 cups and orange juice to about 1/2 cup. Also I read many reviews of this recipe being too sweet, but I find that with fruit recipes you really have to taste the fruit before you use it to know how much sugar is needed. I rather like the cakey cobbler this recipe produces as opposed to some with a denser topping. The best compliment this recipe can get from me is that even my very picky hubby requests it regularly. Thanks for a nice basic recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Dec 2003
Reviewed by: JMAUNDER
Terrific recipe vaulted into the five-star category by two changes. I have added 1/2 tsp of lemon zest(grated peel) and a bare sprinkle of cinnamon to the blueberry mixture on the bottom. Have added a streusel topping (over the existing two layers in the original recipe) consisting of 1/3 c. Bisquick, 1/3 c. packed brown sugar, 2 T. butter and 1/2 cup chopped pecans. The crunch and nuttiness were missing previously. Mix all streusel topping ingredients together with a pastry blender or forks and sprinkle evenly over the middle layer, baking for 35-40 minutes as usual. Vanilla ice cream is a must for most fans. Oo-o-o, LOOK OUT! It's TOO GOOD!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Aug 2005
This is really good! But I did make some changes, namely: 1) I used frozen blueberries. 2) To the berry mix, I added about 2 dashes of ground nutmeg, 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon, and 1.5 tbsp. cornstarch. I also increased the white sugar by 1 tbsp (total of 4 tbsp). The sweetness was just right. 3) I used a rectangular pan, 9.5" x 7". I think that the serving size is more like 4 than 6.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: TaylorLocke
This recipe was amazing! My first cobbler ever, and it was immediately gobbled up! I made the following changes to it, based off of other reviews. 1) I used 4 cups of blueberries. 2) I used brown sugar instead of white sugar with the blueberries. 3) I added 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon both to the blueberries and the batter. 4) I added 2 tablespoons of cornstarch to the blueberries. 5) I sprinkled the blueberries with a little bit of nutmeg. 6) I made 1.5 amount of batter (using 2 eggs). 7) I didn't have an 8x8 dish, so I used a 9x7. 8) I added a streusel topping: 5 tablespoons of brown sugar, 2 tablespoons of flour, 2 tablespoons of butter, and 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon. My cobbler was done cooking in just under 30 minutes. I served it with Cool Whip, and it was a big hit. I know it sounds like a lot of changes, but I read a year's worth of reviews, and these were changes suggested by many users. I will definitely add this to my dessert rotation!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: So-shu
This was not a cobbler recipe for me. What I call a cobbler has a crusty crust and this cobbler had a cake like topping which was thick and absorbed the filling into it. The fruit underneath tasted great, but I just did not like the cake like top.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: MOMZRIGHT
Oh my gosh...this is an outstanding recipe. My daughter and I picked blueberries this morning and I made it tonight. My family devoured it. My husband happened to accidentally drop his second helping on the floor and I thought he was going to cry. Vanilla ice cream on top is the way to go. Thanks for the recipe!! I will make again and again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Aug 2003
Reviewed by: UTAHMOMOF3
Oh boy! Was this ever a HUGE hit with my family and guests! The only modifications I made were: Instead of 1/3 C pure orange juice, I diluted it down with water, to make 1/3 C liquid. (I am not a big orange juice fan, so I adjusted it for my liking!) I used 4 Cups blueberries, because we had an overabundance of them, and didn't want them to go to waste. The blueberries bake down, and didn't overtake the entire cobbler. Finally, I doubled the topping, but found that the center did not cook fully, so next time I might only do it 1.5 times versus doubling the recipe. We will make this again and again! It is WONDERFUL!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: Chris
There isn't enough crumb topping in this recipe, but this stuff tastes fan-friggin-tastic regardless! Recommend adding about 50%, or even doubling the crust portion of the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: ALLYKATD
Wow! Delicious! I didn't have enough blueberries so I added several fresh peaches, peeled and cut into chunks. I also made a bit more crust, using a full cup of flour and portions of butter and vanilla to match. There are only four members in my family, and the cobbler lasted about 20 minutes. I'll have to double the recipe next time!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: URIAH
Definitely better the next day - tasted too much like orange juice the day I baked it. Still good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes