My Reviews (107)

Healthy Beef Burger

This burger pattie is made with lean beef mince and is a nice healthier alternative to store-bought patties. Serve on a bread roll with salad.
Reviews (107)


23 May 2008
Reviewed by: GLITTER53
I've been making burgers this way for years and they've always gotten compliments. I use Italian bread crumbs, however, in place of the oats, and leave out the hot sauce (our personal tastes don't run to hot foods). I also add a couple of cloves of minced garlic and a tbsp of green relish to spice things up. It holds together nicely on the grill, even when I make nice huge flat patties for those large buns. There is NO other way to make a burger!;-)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: Jane
I wouldn't say it's the best burger ever, but it's worth repeating! I'm not a spice lover so I was a little concerned with the hot pepper sauce, but I followed the recipe exactly and found that it added just a little zing. Very nice! Here's a tip I just learned and it worked out great. Put an indent in the middle of your patties with your thumb before cooking - then they'll come out flat and not bulging in the middle!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 May 2008
Reviewed by: Lynda Young
Great burgers! I added a pat of butter and inserted into the center of the patty before grilling, make sure you close the meat around it. It adds so much flavor to burgers even in the oven grill.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: missi.daniels
THE FIRST TIME I MADE THESE: I left out the onion soup mix and egg and they were AWESOME! I'm a huge fan of flat, flat burgers. hate, hate meatball burgers. well, these were super flat and very tasty. my 3 kids ate them and never said a word about the hot sauce. it wasn't spicy like hot sauce, it just made for a very tasty burger. also very moist. i will make these often. will probably add some extra garlic salt since we are very fond of garlic. we even garlic salt our french fries. yummy. thanks. THE SECOND TIME I MADE THESE: i used the onion soup mix and egg. they were still moist and flat, but they tasted waaaay too much like meatloaf. no one liked them.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 May 2002
Reviewed by: MOLSON7
These were easy and tasted good. I cut the oats down to 1/2 cup.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: FROGHOPPER
These turned out pretty dry. Had to cop them up for the kids and serve it to them like meatloaf otherwise they wouldn't eat them. They were also surprisingly bland. If I make these again I will cut down on the oats and add pickle relish like another reviewer stated.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jun 2001
Reviewed by: JMDUER
This was really good. I was a little skeptical of the oatmeal at first, but it tasted wonderful. We made them for a grill out and I got nothing but compliments!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Feb 2001
Reviewed by: STORMY_YANG
Excellent flavour!! I generally do not eat hamburgers, but could not help myself in this case. I made a double recipe. The burgers were even better the next day reheated as the flavour became even better. A great make ahead meal.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: Karl Fish
I tried this recipe and found the burgers to be a bit dry. I don't fault the recipe though, I made the patties too thin! Next time I'll make them thicker and add 1/2 tin onion soup to make them more moist, a trick recommended by my mother the supreme chef. All in all, an easy burger to make.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: YUMYUM123
Since we still have plenty of snow on the ground, we were unable to grill these. Instead, I made it into a meatloaf (still following the recipe exactly) that I cooked for 1 hour at 350. It was great. My BF loved it and said he liked it better than my regular meatloaf. I will try this again as burgers, too!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes