My Reviews (70)

Best Burgers

The addition of oats in this recipe makes the texture of the burgers perfect. Try it at your next summer barbecue.
Reviews (70)


16 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: djk716
Best burgers I have ever made! I substituted the oats with Italian bread crumbs and cut the ketchup in 1/2 and added Worcestershire sauce. Fantastic!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: Suze Knisley
This is almost an exact duplicate of a recipe I have been making for years (I add Worcestershire and omit the onion flakes). For those of you who had trouble keeping the burgers together, try whirring the oatmeal in the food processor/mini-chopper for a few seconds to make them more like flour. The benefit of oatmeal is that it assumes the taste of the meat, rather than adding its own flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: Becky_ME
This recipe turned out just all right for me. I followed the directions exactly but I found the texture to be a little too meatloaf-y, as another reviewer mentioned. I think that was probably the oats. The flavor was great....I just didn't care much for the meatloaf-like texture. I will make this again but I think next time I will leave out the oats to see if that makes a more firm, burger-like texture.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: Navy_Mommy
I thought these were great. I used finely chopped onion rather than dried. They were moist and I didn't have any trouble with them falling apart. The onion soup mix gives a little kick and they taste great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: mominpa
I am sorry but this is meatloaf not a burger.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: anifreak61
This is trully the best barbequed burger I have ever tried. My family and friends love it. The only thing I did differently was substitute the cooking oats for Italian bread crums. It was jucy and it did not break appart while grilling it. I really recomend it to everyone.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: Nancy A.
I needed a quick and easy ground beef recipe tonight so I mixed up these burgers but decided at the last minute to bake the mixture in the oven as a meat loaf. I added about 6 drops of liquid smoke to the meat mixture and it was fabulous! It took 40 minutes to bake at 400 degrees. I will definitely make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: Butterfly Flutterby
I was so pleasantly surprised by this recipe! This was delicious and the burgers held together very well. The flavors and spices were well balanced. I used 93% lean ground beef. My husband and son both liked these as well. Thanks so much, I highly recommend this recipe and I don't care for many burger "recipes" like this. Thanks again! Yum!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 May 2007
Reviewed by: Capital J
i have just started to get into grilling a lot. ive had trouble making good burgers. these were good. i liked them but everyone i made them for really enjoyed them. everyone liked them so much they asked me for the recipe for memorial day. i will be saving this recipe to my recipe box. thanks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Mar 2005
Reviewed by: ROBINC1117
Very VERY good! I loved how they stayed together on my grill. The kids loved them. The only thing I did differently was used Italian style bread crumbs instead of the oats (because I didn't have any oats!). Will DEFINATELY fix again!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes