My Reviews (123)

Easy Berry Bars

These berry bars are very easy to make and your kids will love them. You can of course substitute any kind of berry you prefer.
Reviews (123)


12 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: Pamela Frechette
Okay...first of all I used fresh blueberries and was concerned that as the blueberries gave off their juices, it would turn out to liquidy. But it was fabulous! The corn starch really did it's job. Finally a fruit bar that's not sickening sweet! It's perfect and the crumb crust and topping doesn't steal the show from the fruit...which is how it should be. I didn't feel guilty eating these at all! Wonderful recipe and super simple!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 May 2009
Reviewed by: naples34102
My original intent was to make a mixed berry pie today, but laziness got the better of me and I made this instead - the point being, it is EASY - and with little effort I had something fresh, pretty and delicious! I pulsed the dry ingredients in the food processor, then pulsed in the shortening and, finally, the egg, which I beat slightly with a teaspoon of vanilla. I found this method quick, easy and it crumbled beautifully. For the fruit I used a mix of fresh blueberries, raspberries and strawberries. Mine was perfectly done at 45 minutes, although I started to check it at 35. The results were perfect. Just as good as a crumb topped mixed berry pie and so much quicker to throw together. Very nice recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 May 2008
Reviewed by: Celeste
I used blackberries, extra sugar mixed in the berries, and butter as suggested by reviewers, a little more cinnamon and it was perfect. The flavor really came together after sitting for a day or two, the crumb mix was kind of bland the first day, and on the third it had the best flavor. Can't wait to try it with raspberries!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: Leanna Brown Thorne
I tell you what! If people would only make this recipe as is they would find it WONDERFUL! No tweaking! This deserves five stars!! You can try other fillings but the rasberry is far the best!! Thanks for an easy recipe! It didn't last long in my house and I've made it three times already!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 May 2008
Reviewed by: jensenly
Took these into work and they were devoured within minutes! I took the advice of others and used butter instead of shortening and doubled the amount of sugar on the berries. Very tasty and easy to make. Next time, I will combine all of the dry ingredients first for the crust, then add the butter and egg. I will also use a food processor to cut the butter into the flour mixture. This should help make the mixture a little more crumbly, like small pebbles. I had to work pretty hard to cut the butter into the flour mixture by hand! Thanks, Jan!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: JENIFGRR
Remember the Seinfield episode about how everyone loves the tops of muffins and don't want the rest of the muffin? This recipe solves that problem. When I'm in a hurry, I'll make these with either raspberry or blueberry canned pie filling...either way, they are simply wonderful and disappear very quickly!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: MUNCHIE66
Very easy and very good! I have made them with berries, peaches and crushed pineapple. Each time it turned out great
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: CYNJAMS
Scrumptious and super easy to make! I used Splenda for Baking to reduce calories and sugar content and it was still delicious! My family and friends ate it so fast! Make sure to let it cool completely before you try and cut it into bars or they will be a little mushy. Next time I will try whole wheat flour to increse the healthfulness and see how it tastes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: nwgirl
Simple recipe and end results were awesome. Used mixed frozen berries (frozen berries, no sugar added), consisting of strawberries, blueberries, raspberries, and blackberries. Used butter instead of shortening, just because. Also added a tsp of almond extract to the crumb mixter and brown sugar to the topping. Cut them into small bars after they cooled and they are so incredibly yummy. Hubby and I both agree, FIVE STARS! I will absolutely make them again and again. Thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: RIOJO
Do yourself a favor and keep this recipe handy. I have made it several times. I've used raspberries, blueberries, peaches, nectarines; alone and in various combinations depending on what I had on hand. I made two changes. 1. use butter, not shortening it ups the flavor greatly. 2. Add vanilla and/or almond extract...both tend to bring out the best in most fruits. If you add almond go light it is strong...you can never have too much vanilla. Due to a friends allergy I have also made it without the egg...still awesome the crust was just more cookie like.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes