My Reviews (60)

Spicy Fish Chowder

This wonderful blend of fresh fish and spices is a meal in itself. Serve with a loaf of warm crusty bread and a green salad.
Reviews (60)


15 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: rmakoto
I have been a little hesitant to make this type of chowder in the past, thinking it might come out a bit acidic, however this recipe comes out very mild and WONDERFUL! Will definitely make again. Thank you!
 
13 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: SHAWNIEP
I am a Bermudian and I have tried this recipe many times. I believe that you have to add your own amounts of seasoning when making fish chowder - to suit your personal taste - this recipe is the PERFECT start!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: Crogirl
I have made this several times and have made a few changes . I added a few more spices, cayenne, dash nutmeg, tumeric, cumin, dash cinnamon, ginger and coriander. Ok, more than a few. The nutmeng, cumin and cinnamon especially give the flavour an exotic lift. No one can quite figure out the undertones but they love it. Just a little of everything is all it takes. Not too heavy or it is overwhelming.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: ANGELA1970
This is a good start. I looked at a few other recipes and tried to make it taste like what I had in Bermuda so I made a couple of changes, I added a dash of nutmeg, allspice, cayenne pepper, thyme, one clove, 2 tbsp of dark rum, 4 tbsp of sherry pepper sauce, and Walleye for the fish because I have a freezer full of it. Turned out great and smells so good when it's cooking.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: Julie Hoffman
Wow, this was an even bigger hit than I expected. The store was out of clam juice, so I used 3 cans of clams packed in clam juice, and added a cup of water. The clams made the chowder nice and meaty. Will definately make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: drw2
This soup is spectacular and very easy. I used chicken broth in lieu of the clam juice and also added a can of corn. I wanted a recipe for striped bass and this was perfect. Will definitely make again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: Gina
Excellent!! I did make a few personalizations ... added canned baby clams, added a habenero instead of a jalapeno, and also added 1/2 cup of dark rum and 1 lb of jumbo prawns. The soup was good right after preparing, but was fantastic the next day!!! I am currently making another batch to freeze and have ready for a last minute thaw and serve dinner.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: CARLA H.
This recipe was great. I cooked it exactly according to the recipe, but since I had just under a pound of cod, I added some canned clams when I added the fish. It was really good. Just enough zing, but not too much.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: cook 2 relax
This was a pleasant surprise. I really liked the flavor and it was nice to have such a fresh tasting fish soup!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: linda
I had to make do with the ingredients I had on hand, and I didn't have enough clam juice. I made up the difference with chicken broth. I think it would have been much better if I had had enough juice. I did add extra seafood though (bar clams, scallops, crab, shrimp) and used tilapia instead of snapper, since I didn't have any.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes