My Reviews (70)

Collard Greens

Collard greens have a mild cabbage-y flavour. They are also called mustard greens and are a great hearty side dish.
Reviews (70)


21 Nov 2000
Reviewed by: MINAMU
Okay, for all of you who don't know the right way to eat greens, listen up: FIRST, respectfully forget Brad's recipe above this one -- YOU DON'T PUT SUGAR IN COLLARD GREENS. I am from Georgia and I know. Turnip greens maybe, but not collards! SECOND, you MUST eat collard greens with chopped raw tomatoes and chopped raw onions sprinkled on top (plus pepper sauce if you like it, but if you don't know what this is, forget it, I'm not going into it. Well, okay, I'll try. Suffice it to say it's peppers stuffed into a bottle of white vinegar and left to sit either on a shelf (how the oldens did it) or in the fridge for a few months, then you sprinkle the juice on the greens -- but don't ask me what kind of peppers. I just know they're green, medium hot, and I know them when I see them). THIRD, if you don't want the fat of hamhock or salt pork, you can use smoked turkey wings and the flavor is still quite good. But whatever you do, DON'T try to cook collard greens without some kind of salted meat.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: MADBALL
This is how I was taught to make collards by a dear friend from North Carolina, with 2 changes - no oil, and a splash of cider vinegar is essential. When the greens are fully cooked, I remove the ham hocks, shred the meat, and add it back to the greens. One tip for when you're prepping - I wash the cut collards in my sink 3 times, adding baking soda to the first wash. This helps remove some of the bitterness.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: ladybug71
Just a little note from another "Southern Belle", suger is sometimes used in greens(even collards)to cut the bitterness. Greens only sweeten after the first cold weather gets to them. My grandparents and parents farmed greens for years and this is what they taught me.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: JCooks305
I don't understand how a person says you should NEVER put this in that and yadda yadda. I NEVER ate collards with freshly chopped onions and tomatoes and my whole family from the south...it sounds good though but NOT a MUST ! When you cook something cook it to your liking...you have to eat it! For those who are not familiar with collards...depending on how fresh your collards are, whether they are in season all are factors to consider. I have had some greens that are soooo tender I can cook em' in a short time (an hour or so). I have had green soooo tough I had to cook them overnight! It depends. Sometimes I add sugar to my greens (depends on the batch again). It's shouldn't be sweet however. I love to top my greens with peppered vinegar and I'm good to go!!! Have fun with your cooking! Don't get frustrated if you get a "bad" batch of greens (tough, real bitter, etc). this is a dish that is worth the effort. Good ol' comfort! One Love :0)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: PNLewis
This recipes turns our collards as good as my grandmother's. I have cooked collards according to this recipe several times and always get rave reviews.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: ASPINELLI23
Great recipe! I used this recipe to make collards for the first time. At the suggestion of a native southern woman (my boyfriend's mother), I skimmed the fat off of the top of the water before I added the collard greens. She said that this would keep the greens from being too greasy. Apparently, a lot of the flavor is in the water, because the collards turned out great with a wonderful, smokey flavor. One note for novice cookers (like myself): be careful with the red pepper flakes. They can overpower the greens if you accidentally add too much.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: FLEAMARKETADICT
I only cook Collards once a year - on New Year's Day - so I've never had a favorite recipe .... well, I do now! Salt Pork (or Fat Back) can be used to season the greens but after simmering for two hours what ever meat you use will be falling to pieces so I recommend using ham hocks which have less fat. I didn't have any red pepper flakes on hand so I used some southwest seasoning which contained cayenne. I wasn't sure about adding the vegetable oil at the end but I don't think the final product would have been as good if I hadn't. Edit: I just wanted to add a new trick I learned this year. I like to trim the thickest parts of stems out of my greens so they are good and tender. In the past I have spent time cutting the stems out of each leaf. The trick is to make a circle with the thumb and first finger of one hand and starting with the stem end pull the green leaf through the circle with the other hand. Don't pinch, keep the circle loose. The leaf peels right off the stem. Then, instead of chopping the greens, roll a few leaves together loosely and cut them with cooking shears. Saved me several minutes this year.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: RAS7518
If you need to leave out the meat like one review suggested (by using olive oil) you will be missing the much needed saltly, smokey flavor. You can try adding salt and liquid smoke or even better chiptole jalapenos for a little spice.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jan 2001
Reviewed by: JOETTA BRYANT
I made these for New Year's. They were great! My mother always made delicious Collards. Since she passed, I decided to give it ANOTHER a try (I made them once before, the results were disasterous.) Since I do not have much cooking experience, I was very pleased with the results. Thank you Tina.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: MICKVETTE
I used this recipe with mustard and turnip greens and the meal was delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes