My Reviews (132)

Quick Shepherd's Pie

This is an easy shepherd's pie recipe that is ideal for a quick weeknight dinner. Serve with steamed vegetables.
Reviews (132)


06 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: Alissa
Yum! This recipie was really good for a quick dinner. (Although it definitely needed some tweaking) I used 6 servings of potatoes to just barely cover the 9x13. I added chopped onions to the beef, and cooked the macaroni for about 10 minutes (until it was done) while adding a little water every few minutes to keep it from burning. I also put gravy over the beef mix, and I put cheese over the potatoes. It turned out great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: Marcy
We found the noodles & potatoes to be redundant so I used 1 10 oz box of frozen mixed veggies instead (I partially thawed them 1st). Also, we found this to be too bland for our tastes so I added worcestershire sauce, onion powder, pepper & a couple shakes of Tabasco for more flavor. 6 servings of potatoes left a thin frosting on top. I will use 8 servings the next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: AUDNJAKE
what can you say bad about this recipe? Everyone likes it and it's super easy to make after a long day at work. Plus, you can customize it according to your tastes or what you happen to have on hand that day. I always add corn & mushrooms. I also, like other reviewers, make more potato's than the recipe calls for. I've found that making a serving for 6 (according to the box) covers a 9x13 pan perfectly. We also add the cheese during the last 10 min's of baking - just enough to melt it. Great recipe for a cold winter's day !! Thanks Cathy
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: OSROCKY
I used Onion Soup mix (store didn't have beef onion flavor) and it worked out fine. I made enough mashed potatoes for 10 servings (according to product box) - and that was just right. 2 cups of mashed potatoes is definitely not enough to cover a 13x9 pan. I added 1 can of corn, and 1 can of green beans, and topped it all off with both paprika and shredded cheddar cheese. I found that 1 1/2 pounds of ground beef was the perfect amount. Hubby loved it, it was very flavorful and a great comfort food!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 May 2001
Reviewed by: NJSS2000
I had to use Beef Onion Soup Mix too. This was very good but I would add some vegetables to it the next time i make it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: Andrea
My family loved this. I did not use paprika. Instead I put shredded cheddar cheese on top. It was very good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: Karen
This recipe was simple and super easy. I added 1 can diced tomatoes and used real mashed potatoes instead of instant,added frozen mixed vegetables and I put shredded cheese on top of hamburger mixture before putting mashed potatoes in. I will make this i'm sure over and over again...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jun 2000
Reviewed by: Tina
Very tasty dish that is quick & easy to make. I used 2 lbs ground beef and added some carrots (cubed), canned green beans and corn to make the dish more colorful. Onion soup mix (1 packet) gave the dish a good flavor. Idaho instant potatoes worked very well and was a great time-saver. I used about 8 cups of mashed potatoes in order to get a decent amount to spread on top of the beef mixture (my 9x13 baking dish was full). This is a great 1-dish meal!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 May 2006
Reviewed by: RACHAELS3
Easy and tasty! The best kind of recipe! I did add cheese to the top but I think this time I am going to put the cheese between the meat and potatoes. We all loved this one.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: Audrey Fox
delicious definitely a keeper
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes