My Reviews (32)

Basic Vanilla Cake

This is a really nice recipe for a basic vanilla cake. You can serve it plain as a snack or with icing of your choice.
Reviews (32)


08 May 2001
Reviewed by: STEPHANIEUSREY
This recipe sounded great, but the overall flavor and consistency of the cake was not really like a pound cake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: BJERIN2
This is a very simple and very tasty cake. Even better the day after!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Mar 2001
Reviewed by: NIBLET
Excellent cake Annie. Thanks for posting it for all to enjoy. From Andrea
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: wendy
Followed the recipe and this turned out so moist and spongy. Topped it with whip cream and fresh strawberries! Yum. Thanks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: Aprilnae
I give it 5 stars with the following modifications...1/2 cup brown sugar, substitute cream for milk, add a teaspoon of almond extract and use a full cup or butter...it came out vey moist and yummy! My mom and hubby loved it! I also made a glaze for it 1 cup confectioners sugar, 3 tbs of milk, 3 tbs of melted butter and a tsp of vanilla...poke holes in the cake and pour over warm cake a little at a time...YUM!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: Tracy
Very Moist and delicious. Best Pound cake I've ever made or tasted.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Mar 2005
Reviewed by: AMENT83
Thanks for the recipe! I was looking for something quick and easy to whip up to take over to my parents house as a dessert, when served with strawberries, cream and ice-cream it was a hit! Didn't taste like those artificial pound cakes that you buy at the store (with that really rich/sweet taste) - just right!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: JenP
very tough and not much taste, will not make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: Paula Mathers
i made this in a springform pan and it was very good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: Sweet Lady
I tried this recipe a few weeks ago for the first time. I made it for someone, so I didn't get to taste it. Instead of making it in the loaf pans, I put it in a bunt pan. It was pretty short, so when I made it again yesterday for a family gathering, I doubled the recipe and baked it in a bunt pan. It turned out great!!! I topped it off with a vanilla glaze about 5 minutes after I took it from the oven. It was so delicious and everyone loved it!!! Awesome recipe
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes