My Reviews (8)

Spicy Grilled Tomato Salsa

Fresh ripe tomatoes grilled, diced then combined with red onion, garlic, red chillies, lemon juice and coriander. Best served over meats or with corn chips.
Reviews (8)


29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: DKRAFT
This is beyond HEAVENLY! I prepare this with every Mexican dish I make. I learned from my mum! I don't use olive oil though...
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Foodie
I am always looking for a good salsa recipe. The tomatoes definitly have to be cooked longer than 5 minutes, and the flavour was really .."blah". Usually a cooked salsa will be mashed or blended. I am not sure if its supposed to be fresh salsa or not..Not happy..still searching for a good recipe.
 
09 May 2003
Reviewed by: BajaValle
I am always looking for a good salsa recipe. The tomatoes definitly have to be cooked longer than 5 minutes, and the flavor was really .."blah". Usually a cooked salsa will be mashed or blended. I am not sure if its supposed to be fresh salsa or not..Not happy..still searching for a good recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Apr 2004
Reviewed by: DREAMSICKLE
This is beyond HEAVENLY! I prepare this with every Mexican dish I make. I learned from my mom! I don't use olive oil though...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: LouisvilleHugger
The taste of a broiled tomato is delicious! You're not going to be able to "chop" your tomatoes once their broiled because they basically turn to mush but don't fret, they're still yummy. If you want a chunkier salsa I suggest chopping up a couple fresh tomatoes without broiling them. As for the actual taste of this salsa, it's just "alright" for me. I am not a cilantro fan but my boyfriend & roommate are and they enjoyed it very much. Too much cilantro for me and I didn't even use the entire half cup it calls for. I also roasted up a jalapeno for more heat.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: beckie
I made the mistake and made it with a jalapeno pepper minus the seeds. VERY BLAND. My grocery store is NOT very diverse, so couldn't find the right pepper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Javagoddess
I love salsa, and this one was awesome! The broiled tomatoes added a great touch, and I did not have any difficulty chopping them. Made a double batch of this for a party, and it was the first thing gone. Not a super-spicy salsa, but very savory and good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Oct 2012
Reviewed by: rms
Used this salsa on nachos...much better than from the jar! I let it stand o'night in the fridge for the flavours to mix.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes