My Reviews (92)

Fried Bananas Burritos

Based on a Mexican recipe this dessert is a style of 'Chimichangas' (deep fried burrito). The crispy outside makes a great contrast to the soft sweet inside. But you don't need to fry if you don't want to.
Reviews (92)


15 Sep 2004
Reviewed by: BUCKEYEGRAD
OH MY GOSH! This was awesome & I didn't even make it as chimichangas. I made the banana sauce and served it warm over vanilla ice cream. As an accompaniment, I made cinnamon crisps by cutting flour tortillas into triangles, spraying them with butter and dipping them in cinnamon/sugar. Then, I baked them for about 5 minutes at 400 degrees. I made this after a Mexican Fiesta Bunco Night and the ladies all raved about it. I will make this again and again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: RONFAM
OHH! This recipe was good! I made it for dinner, and after making three batches of tortillas and doubling the banana part, we were stuffed! Plus, barely enough leftovers for one person!! I didn't have spiced rum, and just used vanilla extract.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Aug 2004
Reviewed by: EILEENMA
Excellent! Made this for a tropical-themed dinner party and everyone loved it. Definately let the banana mixture cool before you fold it into the tortillas. I made these ahead of time and kept them in the fridge. That gave them time to set so when I fried them they didn't fall apart. I also sprinkled with cinnamon sugar and topped with vanilla ice cream and chocolate syrup.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Mar 2005
Reviewed by: Kim
I CANT STOP LICKING MY FINGERS! Seriously, this was AWESOME! I did change a few things... I drained the liquid from the bananas, and used it to dip them in! It made rolling the tortillas up, much easier. I also warmed the tortillas up in the microwave so it was easier to work with them. i tried the mix before and after the rum, and trust me, it makes the sauce! Thanks for an excellent recipie!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: SNO198
I have made bananas foster before and the recipe is missing the 1 1/2 tsp vanilla and 1 tsp cinnamon. Also- the flour tortillas were too thick and cracked when rolled so I heated mine for 5 seconds and rolled them out with a rolling pin to make them easier to work with. And also, when putting the syrup in the tortilla it was very hot and then frying them made me burn my self. I recommend making the banana mixture and letting it cool before frying to avoid burning your mouth. But excellent idea for the recipe- mine turned out delightful!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: GodivaGirl
Very quick and easy to prepare. GREAT tasting too! I only had the 6" tortillas on hand so I could not tuck in the sides and roll. I decided to fold in half. I didn't have spiced rum extract so I used almond extract. Tasted so good!!!! I didn't use a cup of oil but only a small amount to cover the bottom of the pan so the oil would not seep inside. I did brush butter on the top when finished and then sprinkled cinnamon sugar. I drizzled the remaining sauce and hubby ate the first one. Before I got the second one done (which was for me) he asked for another! I made the third one with chopped walnuts in the sauce--also delish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Feb 2001
Reviewed by: MICHELE M.
This was delicious! I wasn't sure how the tortilla shell would fry up but it was done in about 1 minute and wasn't too greasy at all!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: Deborah Norris
Made these for hubby and I and we both loved it. I just folded them over like in the pic. I added a little ice cream on the side and decorated with a little stream of chocolate and strawberry syrup. Topped with a cherry. I did use a brown sugar substitute but you couldn't tell. Hubby does not like anything diet, but he didn't know the difference. Will be making this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: Sarah
DELICIOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: Max
Pretty good overall, I doubled the recipe to make enough for a family of 5. The rum was a bit strong, I mixed chopped walnuts into the mixture before rolling up the tortillas.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes