My Reviews (22)

Banana and Soy Milk Muffins

These banana muffins are designed to be dairy free so if you use the right margarine you are set. Serve alone or with maple syrup for an extra treat.
Reviews (22)


05 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: HEBH
Hmmm...great base recipe. I used 2 mashed bananas, 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour, 1 cup whole wheat flour, and 1/4 cup each flax meal and oat bran. Instead of soy milk I used 1 cup light coconut milk and 1/4 cup almond milk. They are not too sweet and very wholesome tasting. Yumm.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: CITEREH
These were good, but didn't blow me away. Like another reviewer noted, this is a great base recipe. I will make this again, but with at least the following changes: use applesauce instead of shortening to make them healthy, perhaps half whole wheat flour, more banana, fresh ground nutmeg and cinnamon. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 May 2003
Reviewed by: CLOVERDALE1
What a tasty way to add Soy to my diet. Will make again and again
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: Sheebiewonder
These were excellent muffins. I love making muffins for my family and this was one of the best muffins I have ever made, especially because I melted in semisweet chocolate chips and added chopped walnuts to it. This was a great recipe. I have to say, the name is very original.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Coffee
Decent recipe. Put apple sauce in instead of shortening, dough is a bit more firmer then I expected. Not sure if I over mixed or just because of the substitution. Thanks for the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: FROGMORTON
Love these! (I made them with Rice milk rather than Soy milk because I think Soy milk tastes funny when heated.) My daughter, who has a dairy allergy, really enjoyed these right out of the oven with a little dairy free margarine. Thanks for this great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: bobolynn
I do think it's a little odd to be eating a pancake-tasting muffin. I probably won't rush to make these again, but they were good. I guess they're perfect if you love pancakes but don't have the time in the morning to make them. I made these changes: butter instead of shortening, 2 mashed bananas, and regular 1% milk.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: bill
WOW! Absolutely splendid! hits the spot for a perfect snack. Maybe add some more banana flavor and garnish with cinnamon an honey. Bon appetit
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Amy
These muffins did taste a bit like banana pancakes, but not necessarily in a good way. I added cinnamon, vanilla and another half banana...still a bit tasteless. We didn't serve with maple syrup as suggested, so if we make them again, we'll try that.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: momof3
I needed to use up some soy milk so I made these. No one ate them! My boys LOVE muffins of any kind, but they wouldn't eat more than a bite of these. I even added extra banana and cinnamon to make them more flavorful and moist. They tasted like bread with a HINT of banana flavor. I won't be making these again, sorry.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes