My Reviews (261)

Chuncky Banana Muffins

These banana muffins have the banana added in three ways, mashed, diced and dried. They also include muesli and coconut.
Reviews (261)


29 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: MADISONRAE
this is one of my favorite barefoot contessa recipes. the only thing you should edit is part 2 in the directions: the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt should be sifted before mixed. the melted butter should then be added and blended. and lastly, the eggs, milk, vanilla, and mashed bananas should be combined...then added to the flour/butter mixture. these changes will make quite a differnce in the outcome of these muffins...they are fabulous!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: Food Fanatic
Wow....what a great recipe. I made some modifications as others suggested: I used 1 cup whole wheat flour and 2 cups of white flour; used 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/4 cup white sugar; substituted buttermilk for the milk. I also decided to add 1/4 cup wheat germ. Be certain though to properly combine the ingredients as mentioned in a previous review - dry ingredients mixed first, melted butter added to the dry ingredients. Combine the eggs, milk, and vanilla and add next. Finally, fold in mashed bananas, chopped bananas, granola, nuts, coconut, and wheat germ. This recipe is a keeper!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: IDAHOGIRL50
Fabulous. My whole family loves these--I added more bananas than called for and instead of granola, I used oats. delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Christi
I don't doubt this recipe ROCKS as is, but I am a diabetic. I made a few "healthy" changes. I used 2 cup freshly ground wheat flour, 3/4 cup of unbleached all-purpose and 1/4 cup of milled flax seed INSTEAD of 3 cups of all-purpose. I added 1/2tsp more baking powder. I also used 1 cup of splenda and 1/2 cup of splenda brown sugar blend INSTEAD of the 2 cups of white sugar. I also did as one of the reviewers said and mixed the butter into the dry ingredients before mixing in all the wet. I made these as heart shaped mini muffins for valentines breakfast for my children. Oh yummy! I can't tell you how very good these are! They are also VERY filling. My bottomless pit otherwise known as our 14 year old son could only eat 3 of these mini muffins (VERY unusual).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Tulips*n*Truffles
This recipe is AMAZING (even though it's a recipe from the Barefoot Contessa). Definitely follow the suggestions from MADISONRAE - the muffins will have a different texture if you mix them as instructed. The directions here are fine - just produce a different muffin. The flavor is wonderful and they turn out great every time! OH - AND DON'T FILL THE MUFFIN CUPS TO THE TOP!!! You'll have a huge mess. They do rise to fill the muffin cups - just fill them 2/3 full. SO GOOD! ***UPDATE*** Made these again tonight with 3 cups whole wheat flour, half butter half applesauce, eggbeaters instead of eggs - SO SO GOOD!!! You can't go wrong with these!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: little_cinnamon
Very delicious recipe! I added some chocolate chips b/c I didn't have enough nuts, so just to add some variety to the texture. They were very nice. One reviewer said to fill to the to since they don't fluff up a lot, but when I did that they just spilled out all over the oven. So from then on I filled only 1/2 to 2/3 full!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Diana Moutsopoulos
These are really nice muffins! One important word of advice, though: cut down the sugar!!! I halved the sugar and they were still super sweet. Next time I will add even less. The granola adds sweetness, the banana adds sweetness and the coconut adds sweetness... so, really, you don't need 2 cups of sugar! Otherwise, I followed to a T, except for using 3/4 cup olive oil in place of the 1 cup butter. I sprinkled granola over the tops of the muffins before baking, which made them look really appetizing and pretty. Will make again, with less sugar. Thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: OkinawanPrincess
A 5 stars plus! Moist, full bodied, very filling and banana-y. Barefoot Contessa is also one of my favorite cooking shows and I watched this episode where she made this and I couldn't wait to bake these muffins. What I did do slightly different is use 3 cups whole wheat flour, buttermilk instead of milk and I used 1 tsp vanilla extract and 1 tsp of banana extract. After I filled my muffin cups almost 2/3 ways, (they do rise up a little)I gently inserted a couple of banana chips into the muffin tops, breaking some, and sprinkling all over the top as well. These baked exactly 25 minutes at 350 degrees. I did end up with 36 muffins. My house smelled of bananas...MMmm. I think the buttermilk really helped as these muffins were just so moist, and there is a nice wonderful crunch factor from all of the quaker oats granolas, banana chips and walnuts. I can taste a little of the sweetened coconut flakes (nice!). Overall an easy recipe to put together with wonderful results! A definite keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: islandgirlejfan
These were GREAT! I had some frozen bananas that I wanted to use up (little tip for those of you who don't know what to do with your very ripe bananas is to freeze them and save them for cake and muffin recipes...not only is there no waste of them but the sugars are perfect for recipes like this! )and my granola turned out to be flavored with strawberry so I substituted a cup of quick oats for it. They came out amazing! I did have to add about 7 minutes baking time, but that could be just my oven. I think that everyone's oven is different anyway and you just need to bake them until they have a nice brown appearance. Going to take an Easter Basket full of them to work tomorrow...the guys love baked goods! Thanks so much for sharing this recipes....I will make again for sure
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: SLSSANDERS
very good base....but I made some changes to make it more heathly... did a combo of 1 c white flour & 2 cups whole wheat, added 1/4 c of ground flax seed, used 1 cup sugar (instead of 2 cups), 5 small ripe bananas (smashed) & used 3/4 c. canola oil. Omitted the walnuts & banana chips. My kids really loved them & me too!! Nice & lite.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes