My Reviews (179)

Creamy Balsamic Cheese Sauce

Surprisingly cream and balsamic vinegar make a good combination as proven in this simple yet tasty sauce. Works well over chicken or steamed vegetables such as asparagus.
Reviews (179)


06 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: makeiteasy4me
This is a very good and easy sauce. It reheats well too. For a fast meal, I make the "A Good Easy Garlic Chicken" in the pan first and then this sauce. I serve the chicken and sauce over whatever pasta I have on-hand. The only thing I do different is to 1/2 the chicken bouillon and leave the sauce on the burner while stirring in the parm. cheese. It's a definite keeper! *UPDATE* I've made this 3 times (w/the chicken) and each time it leaves me wanting to lick the bowl clean.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: tracy m.
I loved this flavour! I didn't use heavy cream - I used milk and it turned out very nicely still. I used on chicken ravioli and it was delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Emily
This recipe was absolutely delicious! and very easy to make. I didn't have much luck with the parmesan. It didn't melt into the sauce well - staying, rather, in a clump at the bottom of the pan. I used the sauce with gnocchi, asparagus and scallops. I found it to be a good combination. My friends were very impressed. I will definitely make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: Ali
This dish is so fabulous...love it! I actually added turkey sausage with it, it is a little less spicy so it doesn't overwhelm the sauce. Also instead of heavy cream I used chicken stock and 1/3 less fat cream cheese, it is still creamy and yummy but a bit more healthy for you...great trick with any cream sauce!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: Jillian
I followed the recipe exactly only adding a bit of minced garlic and I found the sauce tasted more like a creamy "french onion soup" sauce possibly due to the carmelizing of the onions and the addition of the chicken bouillon. In order to cut down on the sodium I used unsalted butter, 1 tsp. of sodium free bouillon and 1 tsp. of regular bouillon. In order to avoid the cheese clumping into the sauce, while it was simmering I added the shredded parmesan a little at a time and whisked it in vigorously. I served it over penne pasta and topped it with a bit more shredded parmesan and fresh parsley. My husband enjoyed it, but in the future I would use only 1 tsp. of bouillon and avoid carmelizing the onion.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: ENGLISHGURL05
This is a great recipe! I could only use ingredients I had. So what I did instead of using cream, I used 2% milk (1 1/2 cup) and omitted the chicken granules (I'm a vegetarian). I didn't have any parmesan cheese, I actually forgot to add regular cheese at the end. But it turned out really good. As a thickening agent I used a roux (2 TBSP of unsalted butter and 3 TBSP of flour) it worked really well. I would add though for fettuccine I would add a 1/2-1 cup of pasta water.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Avon- status quo PRO
This was a very nice and pleasant surprise for a quick and simple sauce that had me planning what to use it on the next time I make it. I admit, I forgot to get the heavy cream and didn't realize it until the last minute so I did sub evaporated milk for it. Everything else was done as per the recipe and it worked beautifully. Start to finish it was about 25 minutes til dinner was on the table. I served it over cheese tortellini. I also served a spinach salad on the side dressed with a strawberry vinaigrette and toasted almonds. A nice quick, meatless dinner in under a 1/2 hour. ...take that Rachel Ray
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: melcross
This recipe was so easy and tastes great! I added chicken breast strips and spinach to it and I used 1/4 cup Asiago with 1/4 parmesan rather than 1/2 cup of parmesan... I also added a dash of garlic. It looked nice on the plate and was very flavourful!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Michele
This is a fantastic Balsamic Cream Sauce. I served it with penne pasta and chicken. My boyfriend and kids loved it. It is a very easy recipe to follow and I highly recommend it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: Abi Gregorio
Superb! I sautéed onions, garlic, chick peas and swiss chard from our garden for about 30 minutes and prepared millet for the side. I drizzled this sauce over it all and it was perfect! I subbed 1/2 and 1/2 for heavy cream because it was what I had on hand. I imagine with heavy cream it would be simple divine drizzled over anything. A quick and interesting sauce to add something special to a dish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes