My Reviews (417)

Homemade Split Pea and Ham Soup

When I want a simple but warming soup I go for this simple pea and ham soup recipe that only has three main ingredients peas, ham and onion.
Reviews (417)


20 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: tamrhys
this makes the best soup. My mum taught me to make it this way and it always gets rave reviews, the only thing I do differently is soak the peas overnight changing the water a few times, it helps the pease soften down quicker. I keep my ham bone from xmas in the freezer so it's a cheap alternative, I also add a bacon bone for a bit of smokines.
 
03 May 2012
Reviewed by: Linda
I used diced ham and did the whole thing in the pressure cooker to save time. I've got cup sized portions of soup in the freezer for moments when I need to warm up a healthy snack.
 
17 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: Paige
Very easy and tasty. I added diced potato and carrot, and of course garlic always goes with onion Hubby loved it, very tasty. Reminded me of Mum's soups from my childhood.
 
24 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: arentyoucute
great soup, was a hit with the husband and kids!!!
 
18 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: mummy
My husband made this one last week and it was sooo nice, I have never had pea and ham soup this was the first time, he prepared it in no time and cooked it slowly. It was warm and comforting that the whole family enjoyed eating. My husband took it yo work for about three lunches!!!
 
28 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: krumm
loved it, will be making it again
 
03 Feb 2017
Reviewed by: MandyDavison-Bowden
Perfect easy delicious...... added a bay leaf and garlic and used bacon hocks the 2nd time I cooked it ..... AMAZING
 
05 May 2015
Reviewed by: SusanLowrie
Fantastic taste and hearty home soup ... I added smoked ham also yummmmm
 
09 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: larryb33
There's a lot you can do with this recipe, beginning with buying the ham bone at any Honey Baked Ham Store--a coupla bucks and they usually leave about a pound of ham on 'em. I don't brown anything first--just toss in as much diced onion, carrot, celery, and potato as you like. A little garlic adds an interesting dimension. I use a whole bag of dried split peas (not pre-soaked), and after they are cooked and beginning to fall apart, I add another half bag. By the end of the slow cooking time (at least 2 hours; longer is better), the first batch of peas has disintegrated, and the second is soft, cooked, but retains their shape. Take it easy with the salt because the ham is usually very salty.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: frenchy
i always soak my peas overnight,,2 reasons , they cook faster and the more you soak and keep changing the water the less gas you will have from the peas! great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes