My Reviews (19)

Baked Snapper with an Oriental Mandarin Sauce

This fish dish is packed full of delicious flavours. Red snapper is baked with a spicy ginger and mandarin sauce, then served with cashews and spring onions.
Reviews (19)


16 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: danaleotx
My fiance and I thought this was a restaurant-quality recipe and so easy to make!! I couldn't find fresh mandarin oranges so I used a juice orange and canned mandarin oranges. Definitely sprinkle on the cashews and green onions over the top if you like them, it gives it great flavor and presentation on the plate! I will definitely make this again! Update: I have made this several times since I first discovered the recipe (ditched the fiance, kept the recipe :-)) and I just LOVE it! I have started adding a small, finely diced serrano pepper in place of the red chili flakes. I like the fresh, pepper flavor! I serve it over Basmati rice. YUM!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Oren Steinitz
This recipe is absolutely fantastic! I prepared the sauce as written, skipping the chopped mandarin orange slices. However, instead of baking the fish I dredged them in flour, seared them in a skillet oiled with one tablespoon of butter, then added the sauce and cooked until it thickened. Don't skip the cashews or the spring onions, they make this dish even better!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: threelegdog
Very yummy! I actually used Tilapia this time and it was equally as good as the snapper. The only thing I modified was to finely grate the ginger to evenly disperse the ingredient into the dish. I grate the ginger by turning it clockwise each time so as to not get the stringy pieces. Very easy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: ExMilitaryWife
I think this recipe could be good but needs some work. Sauce was not bold or thick enough for me. I will try this again and next time I will cook sauce and fish on their own and then dress the fish. A good starting place.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: corster
just made lat night for 7 adults and one y yr old. a few changes only because we lacked required ingredients-terriyaki sauce for soy sauce and olive oil for sesame-matched rest of recipe and only have to bake fish a lil longer because of the size of snapper fillets-EXCELLENT! very fresh, light with a fruity sweet taste followed with a nutty spicy bite- will use often with orange roughy and trout as well! thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: lin
This was not at all good, big waste of snapper
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: INVZLAmom
I tried it with tilapia and left out the ginger on accident. It was still delicious!! I definitely reccomend this as a quick recipe for a healthy dinner!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: nwkellee
This was really good! We had clemetines instead of mandarins so used those instead. What surprised me the most, was eating this as a leftover cold- it was delicious cold! Who knew?
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Apr 2014
Reviewed by: Shellyfoo
This was easy and yummy! My kids loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: EILISH40
No red snapper but works well with salmon and would probably be good to roast a chunk of salmon.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes