My Reviews (14)

Baked Ginger and Basil Snapper

You can use almost any whole fish with this recipe but snapper is particularly suited to the Thai flavours of basil, ginger and chillies.
Reviews (14)


25 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: NIVES123
Great recipe! Instead of baking this, I heat up wok in high heat, sauteed ginger, garlic, chili pepper and browned the fish on both sides (whole fish cutted in half) then toss in the rest of the ingredients, covered, cooked on medium heat until done. Did not add any water, but actually thickened sauce with a little cornstarch (mixed first in cold water), had to add a little more sugar since it was a little salty for my taste (fish sauce). overall it tasted great! Hubby loved it. served over rice.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Hipstick
This is awesome! I used Mahi fillets instead of a whole fish, so I couldn't exactly stuff the fillets with the basil. Instead, I seared the fish in the peanut oil. Covered it with a little of the sauce that is made on Step 4 of this recipe and some basil leaves, and then baked it for about 20mins in a 375 degree oven (cooking time would vary depending on your fillet size or fish choice). Served it along with the leftover sauce over Jasmine rice and Broccoli! LOVED IT! GREAT SAUCE! Thank you for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 May 2010
Reviewed by: Laura York
This is the absolute best! Great flavor, easy and quick. I didn't have any fish sauce so I had to substitute my favorite stir fry sauce but it was still good. This one I raved about to everyone and I NEVER rave about my cooking. I think this sauce would be good with chicken also. I'm going to make up a big batch to freeze and have on hand.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: lizzy
This recipe is for shure a 5 star. I made it exactly as the recipe called for and loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: AcaCandy
Great blend of flavors. I had to use dried basil instead of fresh, and used cherry tomatoes cut in half. Used olive oil instead of peanut oil (not available here). Didn't have any brown sugar, used a tablespoon of prepared honey mustard instead.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: nelcardona
Excellent flavor and easy to make.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Oct 2012
Reviewed by: mommyluvs2cook
This was very good! I did not use a whole fish, just fillets so I skipped the searing and put it straight in the oven. Used orange bells instead of yellow, and that tomato topping is delicious! Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Feb 2019
Reviewed by: Jeanette H.
Delicious flavors for snapper! One of my favorite recipes. It's sweet and tangy and definitely a hit.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Aug 2018
Reviewed by: O&K's Mommy
My Husband Absolutely LOVED it !!! His eyes got very big with the first bite. Thank you for this recipe!! (Added onions , used half a habenero pepper and one extra tomato )
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 May 2018
Reviewed by: sunflowergirl
I used Harissa as a substitute for the chili in this recipe - it was fabulous! Otherwise, I did not stray from the recipe. I will add this to my repertoire!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes