My Reviews (56)

Boiled Potato and Bacon Salad

This potato salad has all the great flavours and ingredients of a baked potato including the bacon, sour cream and chives.
Reviews (56)


09 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: howiserin
I get SO SO many requests for my recipe when I make this potato salad and I now make it without the actual recipe. You can really just throw it together in whatever proportions you want. My trick is stirring in two tablespoons of white vinegar with the potatoes immediately after you drain them and they are still hot. This gives the salad the perfect little zing that everyone seems to love. I think this is why I always get requests for the recipe. DO NOT use dried chives. Use fresh or even better...USE GREEN ONIONS/SCALLIONS. Much tastier and more eye appeal.They don't get lost in the salad. BEWARE: once you take this to a gathering, it will be YOUR thing to bring forever and always!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: mommatiffany
I did it a bit differently... my fiance is a chef and gave me some pointers. I actually baked the potatoes. It took a bit longer but really gave it the baked potato taste. I also left the skins on them, they held up better when I cut them. I used scallions instead of dried chives as well. Overall, very good! Oh, and I put a touch of bacon grease in it, (so bad I know!) but it just gave it a bit more flavor. I am taking it to a cookout, so we will see how well it is received there!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 May 2011
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
To save time, I used pre-cooked packaged bacon pieces. I made a half recipe of this but used the full amount of mayonnaise AND I added extra spices, like onion powder/garlic powder/hot sauce and omitted the salt. I also roasted my potatoes for added oomph (we've found that roasting potatoes just tastes better in potato salad). Because I had it to use and wanted to stretch my salad, I added in some chopped green onion, celery and a couple chopped hard boiled eggs. Tasty and quite simple.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Jillian
Wonderful salad that tasted just like a "baked potato" with all the fixin's! I used red skinned poatoes and left the skins on and opted to use green onion as it's mild in flavor and pairs well with baked potatoes vs. dried chives - basically eyeballing the ingredients. I used Hellman's light mayo along with the sour cream and added a few splashes of white wine vinegar. I also added some chopped fresh chives on top to pretty it up - YUM!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: buggymom
Very good, but I made a few changes. I got baby potatoes and cut them into 1 inch cubes. I roasted them with 2 Tbsp of butter in a covered pan for 30 mintues. I find the potatoes hold their shape better this way and taste more like a baked potato. I didn't use mayo and used a package of bacon pieces instead of making bacon, to save time. I used fresh scallions as well. We prefer to eat this at room temp. or just slightly chilled. My family loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Tabitha Stone
Sampled this receipe right after making it and almost had a heart attack. It was not good. BUT I let it set overnight and tried it again the next morning and it was perfect! People raved about how good it was.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: myndboglyn
I made this for my husband's birthday party and it was a winner! I substituted the chives with green onion. I also used the whole pack of thick cut bacon. With extra sharp cheddar, it was a delight.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Holly21602
Fantastic!! The little bit of mayo that went into this was the perfect touch for the sour cream. Great flavors. Update since my first review. I roasted the potatoes this time, and it was an even bigger hit. I had 0 left overs.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: Christina
We LOVE this and the beauty of it is that it really does taste like a loaded baked potato! I also add in some green onions for an extra kick and usualy don't measure the mayo, but use it to taste. Sometimes I'll even add a little dry ranch dressing mix for something different...either way this is a winner! This is a wonderfully different potato salad that everyone seems to enjoy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Apr 2011
A delicious twist on potato salad. I love making it with red skin potatoes (unpeeled of course), and in a pinch I'll use a package to 1 1/2 pakages of the real bacon bits. I don't use any mayonnaise though. Also, try adding a tablespoon or two of melted butter, it really kicks the taste up a bit.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes