My Reviews (216)

Baked Red Snapper with Prawns

Red Snapper is placed into a baking dish then covered with prawns before finally being coated in a white sauce and parmesan cheese. Once baked serve with fresh bread.
Reviews (216)


14 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: Susan Holliday
This was absolutely delicious, easy to make & better than any fish I have had in restaurants. First of all I couldn't get snapper so I used Kingclip fillets which I had never had before, very fishy smelling but not fishy in taste. Fillets were pretty thick so had to add a little more cooking time. I did as some others suggested and added a few seasonings. I added a little sliced onion, garlic salt, salt &cracked pepper, bay seasoning & 4 Tbls. sherry. I used a half pound of med. cooked shrimp & removed the shell on the tails before I put on fish. Really thought they would be tough as they were already cooked with the cooking in the oven besides but they were just find, not at all tough or dry. This dish is definately a keeper, also can easily be prepared a little ahead of time if having company, get your other sides in order & ready to cook, sit back & enjoy your company with a little drink & just pop it in the oven when ready to cook. I am not a big fish lover but this was excellent & certainly deserves a 5 Star in my opinion.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: CINHAR
Let me tell you what I did...I added crab meat to the shrimp for the topping on the fish. It was GREAT! I also added Old Bay seasoning and Lawry's Season Salt to the sauce. I loved it and so did my boyfriend...he got up for the leftovers later that night.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: GINAH1
This was a perfect meal for a summer night. I made this using red snapper and served it with Basmati Rice and Crispy Cucumber and Tomato salad.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: Amy H.
My family loved this dish! I tweaked it a little after reading some of the other reviews. I added about a teaspoon and a half of minced garlic, about a half teaspoon of onion salt and about a half teaspoon of black pepper to the sauce. I also used imitation crabmeat because that's what we had in our fridge. I prefer fresh shredded parmesan cheese as opposed to grated so that's what I used. It was great! I will definitely be preparing this for hubby and the kiddos again. Pretty good as a leftover, too!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: Dianemwj
I left off the shrimp because all I wanted was a fish recipe to use up some red snapper I had in the freezer. I followed the suggestions of some other reviewers and added some pressed garlic and rehydrated dried onion flakes to the butter before adding the flour. I also added a splash of sherry to the finished white sauce. I only had one pound of fish (there are only 2 of us) and since it is over 100 here in Las Vegas, I baked the fish in the toaster oven so as not to heat up the kitchen too much. I sprinkled some paprika on the sauce-covered fish before adding the cheese, and placed a couple of thin lemon slices on each fillet along with a sprig of thyme before baking. This come out delicious and my husband really liked it! Exactly what I was looking for. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: Riley
Delicious! I made this with cod, and my family loved it. After reading the other reviews, I added lemon juice, minced garlic, thyme and parsley. Excellent!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: MICHELLECA
I think this was fabulous. So simple, yet delicious! Yes, add seasonings to the fish and yes, add sherry (I added 2 Tablespoons) to the sauce. Unlike another reviewer, I WOULD serve this to company and I did with great reviews.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: KFIELDS
If you mess this dish up you CAN'T COOK!! Fantastic and easy. As a Seafood lover i'll add don't be shy on the butter....I would change the tempeture to 375 and add more garnish of parmasan cheese, salt, and parsley 10 minutes before removing from oven. LET COOL!!! I served it will baked potatoe and salad. The family LOVED it...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: 9ELEPHANTS
could have been better if the fish was seasoned first.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Mrs. Jessica
So good!!! Very easy to make. I did season my fish and tweaked the sauce (as mentioned by several reviewers). This has been added as a family favorite. Love the idea of adding crab to the shrimp. Also I used shaved Parmesan cheese instead.....way better! Thanks for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes