My Reviews (128)

Homemade Bagels with Poppy Seeds

This is a recipe for those feeling adventurous. Making bagels is a little time-consuming, but the hot and fresh results make it well worth the effort. Top with sugar or poppy seeds if desired.
Reviews (128)


18 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: Kiwi Klockdoctor
Ann, you must be Jewish! I'm a rank-Yank from New Jersey who worked in a high-volume (350+dozen/morning) Jewish Bagel shop. Of the three or so bagel recipes I found, this recipe most closely matches the shop's. It is a fine home-sized adaptaion of the large-scale operation I worked in. I think the recipe is fine, it brought back a lot of memories. It's a good base from which to start using condiments. The only criticism is that the dough could probably use a little more salt (but a salt-topping could easliy fix that).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: DC James
I have always been a fan of bagels but never thought I could actually make my own. This was my first attempt and they came out perfectly. I followed the ingredients of the recipe exactly along with the directions for Forming and Baking Bagels here on the All Recipes website. (Go to: http://allrecipes.com/HowTo/Forming-and-Baking-Bagels/detail.aspx) I am really impressed with the outcome. The bagels are crisp and toasty on the outside while chewy and yeasty on the inside. After boiling and draining I coated the tops in a mixture of poppy seeds, sesame seeds, sea salt, garlic powder, and fresh ground pepper. (My version of the “Everything Bagels” that I have always loved.) Try making these bagels and I am sure you will not be disappointed. I will definitely be making these over and over again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Feb 2000
Reviewed by: TRT
Great Recipe! Easier than I thought. I split the flour 50/50 Whole Wheat/Unbleached and made a batch of great WW Bagels.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Jan
Outstanding! I am originally from New York and am a bagel snob... I have tried a number of bagel recipes over the years and have never found one that was NY bagel-like... until now. The texture is spot on... crusty outside and chewy inside. I followed the recipe, however I used brown sugar instead of white sugar, and only ended up using 6 cups of flour... 4 cups white flour and 2 cups whole wheat, used my kitchenaid mixer and let it knead for 15 minutes. Followed the rising and proofing and boiling instructions then set my oven to 425 degrees, first because my oven runs hot and two because at 500 degrees my smoke alarm goes off... I placed a pan of hot water on the bottom shelf of the oven before preheating which created great steam for baking then baked for 10 minutes, turned them over and baked an additional 10 minutes. Turned out perfectly!!! I highly recommend this recipe for authentic bagels.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 May 2000
Reviewed by: Carrie
It was fun to make, but didnt taste nearly as good as homemade bagels should. Lacked the yeasty full flavor but was nice and crusty and chewy
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Aug 2000
Reviewed by: ybolduc
Wonderful!! Me and my family (especially the kids) absolutley loved these bagels. Toasty on the outside and chewy inside. Great recipe a definate keeper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 May 2002
Reviewed by: CARRIE27
I am willing to accept that I did something terribly wrong when I made these, although I cannot say what exactly. I think I'll use less salt next time to see what happens. They simply didn't rise or proof like I expected, even though my yeast turned out fine for a different recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: Lee
This was my first time making bagels and they turned out great and looked just like store bagels. I did make a few changes. I used all whole wheat flour instead of bread flour, added a tiny bit more water, divided the dough into two sections so it was easier to manage, formed them by making a ball and then poking a hole in it with my fingers instead of doing it the way suggested, and cooked it for 15 minutes instead of twenty.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Mar 2000
Reviewed by: Paula Bernardi
I live in Brazil and one of the things I love most about going to the US is eating bagels (we don't have them here) so I was searching for a recipe and I found a great one! Easy and delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: NURSELISA_99
I had never thought to make bagels before, but I'm glad I did because they were delicios. Especially with a bit of kosher salt.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes