My Reviews (29)

Tomato Cod Stew

This recipe is the Puerto Rican version of the traditional Spanish peasant dish known as 'Bacalao a la Vizcaina'. This stew is normally served with a side of white rice and/or boiled root vegetables.
Reviews (29)


08 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: LatinaCook
I feel like I just came back from my mom's kitchen in Puerto Rico! Let me tell you about this dish. It's heaven on Earth. I love the flavors and the different textures of this dish. If you don't like fish, you'd still like this. It is not "fishy". If you don't like raisins, you won't know they are there. They give a hint of sweetness to every bite. The capers and olives a hint of tanginess and a bit of saltiness, just enough to make it wonderful. You can serve this with a side of white rice or with some boiled roots (like yuca, malanga, yautia...etc) OR just do like I am doing right now...eat a bowl of it by itself before it dissapears. Thanks Milly!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: Milly Suazo-Martinez
I must add that due to the overfishing of cod over the years, it is easier to find salted pollock (another white fish) sold as 'salted cod'. The term 'salted cod' has become a generic term for salted white fish. Pollock is less expensive, comes in convenient boned filets and works fine for this recipe. The flavor is less intense, but this might be a positive for those who didn't like salted cod because of that.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: foodcurious
My family has been making codfish for years now, normally I don't really eat it so they try not to make it while am around. in this case I decided to make it for them, Wow it was delicious. They were all very impressed and they loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: DiamondGirl amanecer
This dish was spectacular. I can`t believe salted cod can be so good. I didn`t have capers, so used more green olives and used rose wine instead. And I roasted peppers in my oven. Very good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: BRG
I had high expectations for this due to all the interesting flavor combinations involved, but it turned out sort of bland. Maybe rosemary would help, and definitely salt and pepper. I would probably do it in the oven next time, rather than the stovetop.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: SWRDPRINCESS
I first had this in Mexico on New Year's Eve and it was delightful. I changed it to match what I remembered by using fresh cod and omitting the eggs and it was still very good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: ddguzman
Excellent recipe, Ms. Suazo knows her Puerto Rican food.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: reluctant chef
Excellent recipe. I made the tomato sauce ahead of time from scartch adding mushrooms, one red pepper in quarters for flavor, fresh basil from the garden and serrano pepprers to make it spicy. Everything esle was per the recipe. Everyone loved it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 May 2014
Reviewed by: Brooklyncookin
This is an excellent recipe! Bacalao is a staple at our big family dinners but I never cared for it much because I found it plain and salty. I decided to try this recipe and everyone loved it! I halved the amount of capers and olives because I assumed it would come out salty but it didn't. I soaked the fish overnight and changed the water 3 times and it came out fantastic. I will use the full amount of olives next time. I prepared it with boiled Yucca and maduros. I also added some of my homemade sofrito. WOW!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jul 2012
Reviewed by: sues
My mother-in-law requested this dish. I made this recipe just as stated and everyone loved it!! Will be making this tasty stew often! Thanks Milly
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes