My Reviews (74)

Chicken with Cashews

Chicken breast is cooked with capsicum, zucchini, squash, broccoli and mushrooms in a rich sauce before cashews being added at the end for serving.
Reviews (74)


20 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: ELIZABETH101
I probably shouldn't bother rating this as I made so many changes (I have been to Thailand and the original recipe didn't look, taste or smell anything like thai cashew chicken - which is my favourite thai dish) I doubled the sauce, I added 1 tablespoon of lime juice, 1 tablespoon of grated palm sugar, 1 tablespoon of coriander (cilantro if you are in the US) and 3 tablespoons of peanut butter. It made a great satay chicken and lots easier than my other recipe. I also added bok choy, snow peas, broccoli and carrots.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: bhappe
First off, I think people shouldn't rate recipies that they change the heck out of. Almost every rave review did not follow the recipe- irritating. Seccond, chili paste is -very- concentrated. You will not get close to the same flavor using chili sauce or anything else. A good thai chili paste is worth having in your refrigerator if you enjoy spicy asain cuisine because it is made of authentic ingredients like palm sugar and tamarind and lemon grass- things that we can't find easily most places here in the US. Now for the recipe- it didn't do anything for me or my husband. I did add lime juice after cooking, and that helped. Wasn't bad, wasn't amazing. It just was.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: DAVIST
Really 4 1/2 stars only because it's not quite restaurant quality but very good. I added both a red and yellow pepper; broccoli, mushrooms, zuchinni; and onion. I also added three tablespoons fresh chopped ginger and 2 tablespoons chopped cilantro. I doubled the sauce and used only one diced chicken broth. Definitely double the sauce because with all the veggies its great to have a nice coating. I didn't have chili paste and used garlic chili sauce instead. As a side note I prefer sauteeing the chicken first until its done, then adding the onion and broccoli and letting it simmer for five minutes. Then add the remaining veggies for another 5-10 min or until done - a least then your peppers and mushrooms aren't mushy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: Theresa Turner
I am glad so many peope like it but this is not authentic. I've lived in Thailand for 6 years, never seen ketchup as a cooking ingredient. Whole Dried chilis should first be fried, til they darken, then removed from pan. Then loads of chopped garlic is cooked with the chicken, some onon and a bell pepper if you like. Ths sauce is dark soy plus "nam prik pao" chili paste, maybe some cornstarch and water to thicken, chicken broth if u like...Toast or fry the cashews before adding them in, stir in some green onion , sprinkle with some coriander too if you like. FYI - Thais usually dont throw veggies in the dish, but serve a separate veggie dish... but hey, whatever you like :-)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: Cheryl P.
Very good. I made a couple of additions. I added a generous Tablespoon of creamy peanut butter and the juice of 1 lime to the sauce as well as a little extra chili paste. I served this over Chinese Style Mie Noodles. I can't wait until lunch tomorrow for leftovers.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: Chuck Sampson
This recipe was delicious! I did not think of it as a stir fry at all. I did make some modification as other reviewers did, and if you do the same, I think you will find it to be delicious as well. To add additional color and variety, I used a red,orange,and yellow bell peppers. I added 1-1/2 tablespoons of peanut butter and 1 tablespoon of lime juice. I used bonless chicken thighs instead of breast..because it's moister. Next time I make this recipe, I will do one thing differently...I won't put raw chicken into the skillet on top of my vegtables. I did not like that at all, and it was a guessing game to make sure it was done good enough for serving. I will pre cook my chicken and set it aside before I start the vegis. Other than that I will leave the recipe as it is. My family really enjoyed this, and we will make it again for sure!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: SYNDI111
I rated it 4 stars but after making changes it was a 5. I doubled the sauce, added extra chilli paste, little cilantro and a big tablespoon of peanut butter and juice of 1 lime. I used the vegetables I had which was fresh mushroom, red and green bell pepper and onions ( lots of them). Added the cashews but it would be good with or without them. Put over rice. Delish!!! Dont think I would call it cashew chicken though!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: Krick
Wow! This was great. I have tried for so long to make some Thai food that is as good as the restaurants. This is it! I did double up on the sauces, and add a tbsp of peanutbutter and a tbsp of lemon juice as others suggested. Yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 May 2007
Reviewed by: Caroline C
This was good. The only thing I did differently was to probably triple the amount of sauce, and I also had to use way less cashews as when I went to add them from what I assumed was a new, unopened container of nuts, I discovered they had been decimated by Husband over the course of the weekend... Thanks, Fairborn!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: Gwen on the West Coast
This is great. I did modify slightly to add vegetables. I used fresh organic veggies and organic free range chicken from Trader Joes and this definitely tasted like a healthy meal. The veggies I used included broccoli, snow peas, one yellow squash, one red bell pepper, one yellow bell pepper, shredded carrots, crimini mushrooms, and an onion. I did things in a slightly different order than listed in the recipe. I heated the chili paste and then also minced some fresh garlic in the vegetable oil. Then I added the chicken. I cooked it until no longer pink and then added the broccoli and onion. I let those sautee for a few minutes before adding all the other vegetables. In addition to the sauce ingredients listed, I also added a heaping tablespoon of peanut butter, the juice from one lime, and some fresh cilantro. I omitted the sugar entirely as I did not think it was necessary. This was fresh and tasty. I accompanied it with jasmine rice. Thank you for the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes