My Reviews (105)

Moist Chocolate Mayonnaise Cake

Mayonnaise replaces eggs and oil in this chocolate cake recipe and helps create a moist, dense texture that isn't overly sweet.
Reviews (105)


22 Oct 2013
Reviewed by: Tmozzie
The thought of Mayo in a cake was initially ew, but then remembered Mayo is make of oil and eggs so gave it a go and really glad I did - best cake ever. I used normal cooking milk chocolate and it didn't seem chocolate-ie enough so I put in the the same amount again of dark chocolate. This will be the only chocolate cake I ever make.
 
08 May 2002
Reviewed by: NEMECHEKSCOOK
At first I thought it was going to be a dud cake, as the batter tasted really weird. But I baked it anyway, and it was 5 stars! It was tested by 3 adults and 7 kids, all of them said "2 thumbs up!" and the 10 year old said "you should go make this cake at a cake making place and be the manager cause this cake is sooo good!". This is a great, chocolatly, thick and creamy cake! YUM
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Oct 2004
Reviewed by: Amy V.
Don't let the mayonaise deter you.... this is the most delicious cake I have ever tasted. I use sweetened chocolate instead of unsweetened but other than that, I change nothing. The last time I made it, I topped it with "whipped cream cheese frosting" and it was talked about for days. Thanks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: Megasuss
I have been looking for a true Southern red velvet cake recipie since I lost mine in a move 4 years ago. The only thing missing from this recipie is the red food coloing. Rich, moist, and PERFECT! Thank you for sharing this great recipie.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 May 2008
Reviewed by: Char
I made this cake for Mother's day for my mother-in-law. She and the rest of the family loved it. I have one piece left one day later. I topped it with a chocolate glaze. It was super easy to make, the batter was extremely runny, but baked perfectly. I used a bundt pan and cooked it about 50 minutes. This chocolate cake tasted and looked just like a chocolate cake. Very pleased with this recipe and have already recommended it to friends. Super easy to make and delicious too!!! here it is over a year later and I am still making this cake, I just made it twice in the past week. I used the Hershey's recipe for their perfectly chocolate chocolate icing on top, my best friend told me it was divine! It never lasts in this house or when I take it somewhere. Its a keeper! To those who say the cake is gummy with a weird texture , I have made it enough times to know it doesn't always turn out right. I have found that if I over mix the mayo chocolate mixture the cake doesn't rise right and is gummy. To avoid this use room temp mayo and mix chocolate, mayo, vinegar and extract til creamy. If it looks shiny and curdled the cake will be gummy. HTH
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Kelly Young
This cake was the most moist cake I have ever made. I made it in two 8 in pans and put a candy bar icing in the middle and chocolate glaze over the top... Amazing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: GOTTAHAVIT
was looking forward to having a great chocolate cake. Was easy to make..... looked good when it came out of the oven (although I had to keep it in for an extra 10 minutes) but ended up tasting gummy! Not sure what I did wrong
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Sep 2001
Reviewed by: LITTLESTEF
Very good cake, easy, quick, but really moist and delicious. Highly recommended!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 May 2003
Reviewed by: LILLIBIT
I made this cake for my Granddaughter's birthday. It is easy to make with ingredients most have available. It was fantastic for such different ingredients.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jul 2001
Reviewed by: JUDITHBRICE
I was looking for something chocolate, easy, and ingredients that I had on hand. This cake is moist and great with or without frosting.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes