My Reviews (897)

Stir Fried Beef with Snow Peas

Quick and easy this stir fry dish is a combination of beef and snow peas in a ginger and garlic sauce. Serve with rice or noodles.
Reviews (897)


23 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: Chef Joy
HELPFUL TIPS AFTER MAKING THIS ALL MY LIFE: Being Asian, I love running into recipes that remind me of things I already make. The most important thing to take from these reviews is to DOUBLE THE SAUCE. My relatives would not want to eat any of these that have made this as is. ...just doesn't taste like anything you'd have at a good restaurant (as this is american chinese, not authentic). Doubling the sauce ingred. was just the right amount of sauce to accompany a side of rice. Don't overcook the steak. Frying until you get a nice brown color is the perfect way to tell if it's done & the estimate times on the recipe are pretty accurate assuming your slices are thin. Any mixture of veggies work (mushrooms, carrots, frozen peas, red peppers, sliced zucchini, water chestnuts) ...or just grabbing a frozen stir-fry bag of veggies. I add half a bag, and use the other half for the crispy orange chicken from this site that I also make when I'm making oriental food for guests. Red Wine VINEGAR is an acceptable substitution, but I'd encourage you to try more recipes on this site using rice vinegar!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: 4everLuuvd
I hate reviews that change the recipe then rate the original one, TRY the original one and let us know. SO..I FOLLOWED THE RECIPE EXACTLY..AWESOME! My husband is not a stir-fry fan, HE IS NOW! "Since trying" the original recipe I have played with it, added zucchini, carrots, etc.. No matter what I add to it, it is ALWAYS A WINNER. This is MUST TRY. THIS is going into my KEEPER RECIPE file! Thanks for a GREAT "AS IS" RECIPE!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: LisaLangley
This was a great evening meal for the family in my opinion. I did alter the recipe some by adding canned slice mushrooms, water crescents, green onion, and baby corn to the veggies. I also used a snow pea stirfry veggie mix to get more of a variety of veggies (I love'em!). I used butter instead of cooking oil as well to add flavor. Since there were so many veggies, I doubled the sauce mixture and used garlic red wine vinegar in place of the rice wine since I couldn't find it at the store. Served over white rice with chow mein noodles over top. Delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 May 2006
Reviewed by: IMVINTAGE
I used a leftover rib eye, cooked to MR, & sliced it thin before sauteeing. I did use sesame oil to saute in, I did double the sauce, I used mirin for the rice wine, added 2 pea size dollops of wasabi, added a half a can of water chestnuts & about a cup each of sugar snap peas, sliced buttons & broccoli. The sauce was semi-bland so I hit it w/ about 1/2 cup of orange juice & a tbp. more of fresh grated ginger....big improvement. Served it over jasmine rice, garnished w/ sliced green onions & toasted sesame seeds. I finished it w/ Pineapple Orange Sorbet (from this site.) & that complemented the dish perfectly.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: CITYGIRL22
This was delicious and easy to make. I added sliced mushrooms, scallions, and water chestnuts. I also doubled the sauce and added a bit more cornstarch to it. In addition, I threw in some teriyaki sauce and asian hot chili paste for some more flavor - my company loved it. I also used a better cut of meat; I used sirloin, which I thought to be more tender and flavorful. I would definitely make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: TAMATHAK
I made this recipe twice. I found that the secret is slicing the meat very thin. The suggestion of marinating the meat also added more flavor. I used sugar snap peas the second time instead of snow peas and thought it also added more flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 May 2000
Reviewed by: Esmee Williams
This is a very easy and delicious chinese stir fry -- perfect for a fast and hearty weekday meal. I added sliced mushrooms, onions and water chestnuts to add some variety.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: Jennifer Fisher
This was WONDERFUL! I liked the cut of beef I used. I liked that I added thinly sliced onion and water chestnuts. I used rice vinegar instead of rice wine (not sure if there's a big difference) but my dish turned out fabulous. Thank you for sharing! YUM!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Feb 2002
Reviewed by: AVOCET
Quick, easy and excellent! Couldn't find Rice Wine, so used white cooking wine instead. Also used ground ginger, instead of fresh minced ginger root. Came out great. Made a double recipe - No Leftovers!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: SPIMPY
This dish is delicious and so simple to make. My picky meat-eating boyfriend loved it too! I replaced the snow-peas with regular green peas and it was much more enjoyable to eat. I would recommend doubling the sauce ingriedients especially when served over plain white rice...yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes