My Reviews (430)

Authentic Greek Salad

Tomatoes, red onion and cucumbers are dressed with olive oil and finished with crumbled feta cheese and black olives. It's essential to serve this with good crusty bread or barbecued lamb skewers.
Reviews (430)


Comment:
31 Oct 2008
littleboots said:
Something else. I love my lemon juice so a tea spoon of lemon juice was added..
 
01 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: Linda
Loved this salad though I couldn't help adding a touch of balsamic vinegar and some fresh basil....delicious!
 
20 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: Meko6
Great recipe, very healthy & tasty. Love the metod of the salt drawing out the juices
 
Comment:
08 Feb 2010
erne said:
Made it more kid friendly. i mad a good greek salad 4 my girlfriends sleep over
 
08 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: erne
me n my girlfriends had a good time having greek salad
 
22 Mar 2017
Reviewed by: juliettedb
Everyone loved it! I assembled it separately eg tomatoes with/without seeds (I KNOW!!), and olives, and then all the fusspots could add/leave out the bits they don't like, so that everyone was happy!
 
02 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: LDSGIRL
This was really great with a few minor tweaks. I looked over other greek salad recipes on this site and came up with the best dressing. Instead of 4 tsp. of lemon juice, add 3 and 1 tsp of red wine vinegar. For the salt and pepper, add 1/4 tsp of each. Also, add half a green pepper chopped, kalamata olives instead of black and it comes out amazing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
Excellent salad! Stirred in just a couple heaping tbsp. of nonfat greek yogurt. I darn near ate the whole bowl. I might try it with the red wine vinegar in place of the lemon juice as other reviewers have suggested and see how that is. The longer it sits, the better it gets. NOTE: A trick Grandma taught me to help draw some of the liquid out of tomatoes is cut them the way you want them on the salad, then lay them on paper towels and sprinkle with salt. Let them sit for a bit and drain. Blot with paper towels. You do this, your salad will be less drippy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: Michelle
I subsituted 2 tablespoons red wine vinegar for the olive oil and used fat-free feta. It came out absolutely delicious with so much less fat!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: Jillian
Wonderful salad! I used halved grape tomatoes and I didn't have Greek olives so I used black olives instead. When it came to the dressing I took the advice of another reviewer and used Absolutely Fabulous Greek/House dressing scaled down to five servings. Delicious!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes