My Reviews (13)

Apricot and Almond Chewy Biscuits

These easy to make biscuits are packed with dried apricots and almonds. Ideal for an afternoon snack with tea or coffee.
Reviews (13)


20 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: PrincessLiz
I think those who found these spread too much were using real butter. It melts faster than shortening or margarine. Cookies made with shortening or margarine are thicker and often chewier than those made with butter. I made these with margarine and they came out fine.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: lornat
This cookie was excellent. It was hard to eat just one. I toasted the almonds before chopping and adding to the recipe. Also used almond flavoring instead of amaretto. They disappeared. Will definitely be making again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 May 2004
Reviewed by: COOKYSNORK
Great cookie!! My first pan came out a little flat so I had to add more flour(about 1/2 c. more) for them to puff. Nice taste and texture.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: Gwen on the West Coast
I made a few modifications to this recipe. (1) I don't think it needs the icing. I made half of them with an icing and half without and I think the cookies without the icing are better. Plus the proportions recommended for the icing are off. If you use the recommended 2 cups confectioner's sugar and 2 tablespoons amaretto, you will get a block of powdered sugar. In order to get something with a drizzly consistency, I would recommend something like 3/4 of a cup confectioner's sugar, 3 tablespoons amaretto. You could even add vanilla extract or maple syrup to make it more liquidy. (2) Instead of using 1 cup butter, I used 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce and 1/2 cup butter. I almost always substitute applesauce for shortening when I bake and it only improves the flavor. (3) I increased the flour by 1/2 cup. (4) Instead of mixing the apricots in with the recipe, I pushed a dried apricot on top of the cookie as I was putting them on the baking sheet. (5) I added a dash of cinnamon (never hurts, right?). I baked the cookies for 8 minutes exactly and they came out great. Chewy and delicious. I think the cookies without icing are five stars but with the icing are only four stars. I think the icing is too sweet and the amaretto flavor overpowers the other flavors in the cookie.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 May 2005
Reviewed by: FRAMBUESA
While these cookies were really good and seriously addicting, they came out very flat. I halved the recipe and used 1/2 T almond extract instead of amaretto, as well as used 2 bags of cinnamon instant oatmeal in addition to the regular quick oats, as I ran out of them and needed a little bit more oatmeal. I thought they were sweet enough on their own (probably due to the addition of the cinnamon oatmeal) so I didn't put any glaze on top. Next time I may add more flour and maybe less butter as they ended up a little bit greasy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: Ann B.
I really, really loved this recipe. For me, they came out crunchy and a little bit crumbly, but they were very good like that. I think a bit of the apricot flavor was lost under the taste of almond (though I'm a bit biased- I'm very fond of apricot) so next time I make these I think I will try and make an apricot icing for them as well instead of the regular, almond flavor icing. Also, I recommend taking great care if you're going to pack them for shipping.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: MrsKilmer
They "melted" in the oven. Definately need more flour.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: SHADOW7888
These are very good! Very chewy. I used the almond extract.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: june_august
Definitely needs more flour or other dry ingredient - cookie was put on pan nicely rounded and went shlorb over the next 10 minutes. I turned the heat down to avoid burning the small puddles of cookie.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: Brenda Wilbur
Very good but did spread. Maybe use one stick butter and one stick margarine b/c the real butter flavor is very good. I made without the glaze and liked the cookies that way.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes