My Reviews (13)

Rum and Raisin Cake

Sultanas and raisins are soaked in dark rum before being combined into a moist stewed apple cake batter that is spiced with cinnamon, nutmeg and cocoa.
Reviews (13)


27 Jul 2000
Reviewed by: MIHAELA
The rum-soaked raisins are a nice touch, which I also use when making apple strudel. Other that that, though, I judge it a rather average cake, with a slight rum flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: MAZCUT
This cake has been the talk of the office. I put a little twist by using half applesauce and half chopped fresh sweet apples. WOW. Excellent recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: REBEKAH39
What a wonderful recipe!!This was the most delicious rum cake I have ever tried!!I used a little more rum :-))))
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: Christine Somma
I loved this cake! It had more of a banana bread consistency which made it great. I too halved the applesauce and put diced fuji apples (the sweetest). I used all golden raisins and let them marinate in the rum for two days. Sooooo good. My dad loved his birthday cake. Thanks for the wonderful recipe
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Travis Pettengill
Pay no heed to the 3 star reviews that say this cake is too dry, or not Rummish enough. Maybe it is in the original form, but use this twist: Use a full 1/2 cup rum to soak raisins. Also use this to glaze the cake fresh out of the oven: 1/4 C butter, 1/4 C Sucanat or Turbinado sugar, 1/4c (or a *tad* less if you prefer) rum. its fantastic. i also use a half and half Sucanat- turbinado sugar mix for the cake itself. It is healthier than white sugar and really you can't tell the difference.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: tigerlille
I am surprised that anyone would describe this as a rum cake. I was quite liberal in my use of rum, and actually added more than the 1 cup of rum soaked raisins called for (additionally, I soaked my raisins in rum for several days), but no rum taste was discernible in the finished cake. I would describe this as a snack cake. It is moist and mildly spiced, not overly sweet, yet does not require a frosting or glaze. It is relatively healthy for a cake, and makes a good lunch box addition, or simply a nice snack for the kids. It is not an exceptional recipe in any way.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Snacky Liz
This turned out perfectly the first time I tried it. I didn't have cocoa powder so I added extra cinnamon and nutmeg, and dusted the top with some powdered sugar. Very nice!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jul 2004
Reviewed by: REBELFISH44
Oh yes ! I forgot to mention: make it in a bundt pan for a better presentation! Have fun...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jan 2002
Reviewed by: titadarling
My family loved this one. I glazed the top with leftover rum. Gave if a good rum aroma.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: American
Everyone loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes