My Reviews (23)

Apple and Oat Cake

This is a healthy oat cake that uses stewed apples to help keep it moist and is packed with sultanas, walnuts and spices.
Reviews (23)


12 Dec 2000
Reviewed by: SANDEE GALLIMORE
I think the measurement for the baking powder should have been 1 tsp instead of 1 Tablespoon. Everyone said the cake was good but I could taste the baking powder and did not enjoy the cake (but I'm critical of my cooking).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 May 2004
Reviewed by: MAA1
I WAS LOOKING FOR AN OATMEAL BUNDT CAKE FOR MY NEIHBOR CELEBRATING HIS 82ND BIRTHDAY. I MADE THIS FOR HIM AND THE CAKE WAS ENJOYED AND EATEN BY THE END OF THE DAY. HE AND HIS FAMILY ASKED ME FOR THE RECIPE BECAUSE THEY HAD NEVER HAD A BETTER TASTING, MORE MOIST CAKE. THANK YOU FOR THIS RECIPE MY DEAR NEIGHBOR'S 82ND BIRTHDAY EXTRA HAPPY.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Dec 2003
Reviewed by: DAVIST
Yum...I was looking for a snack cake to have around and this is it!! The changes I made from the recipe was using 1/2 cup softened butter, 1 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar, added 1/8th tsp ginger to the spices and soaking the raisins in apple cider before adding to the batter. I also used 3 eggs instead of 4. It just got out of the oven and while it is awfully crumbly right now I haven't even waited for it to cool properly yet and I'm sure it will firm up slightly while cool. I also drizzled a thin glaze made from powdered sugar and apple cider on while still warm but in truth it is sweet enough without it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 May 2005
Reviewed by: LILSKIBO
made this today, used 3/4 cup brown sugar and 3/4 cup white sugar, didn't have raisins so i added 1/8 cup applesauce and 1/4 cup oats, and because i love spice, added a 1/2 teaspoon allspice and 1/4 teaspoon more nutmeg, and i took this cake to a class i go to, and i kid you not, it was gone. i was told by two of them that they don't even like nuts, but that it was perfect with it(i used coarsely chopped pecans and walnuts). it smelled and tasted wonderful, very moist, chewy, and i had cooked it in a bundt pan with no problem. so glad i found this recipe, a definate hit!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: betsy
There isn't a thing about this recipe that I would change. Even thought a few of the proportions seemed unusual, I went ahead and trusted the recipe and I'm glad I did. The creator of this recipe definitely means to use 1 Tbl. baking powder and 3/4 tsp. cloves! Don't be afraid! The cake turned out really moist, flavorful and dense, as a good snack cake should be. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Nov 2000
Reviewed by: KILLERDU
This is the closest recipe I have found to an old favorite, named "Fine & Vital Oat Cake", that I found in a Sunset Magazine in the 1970's. Unfortunately that recipe burned with my house two years ago and nobody in my family had the recipe ... and I have spend 2 years on the web trying to find anything close to it. Packs well, goes camping well, is a great oat cake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Sep 2004
Reviewed by: CHOCOCAT31
This is a great recipe! I substituted dried cranberries for the raisins, and used 2 loaf pans instead of the tube pan.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: SylviaRebecca
I usually don't like it when people review a recipe after having made a ton of changes to it, but this time I must. This is a great recipe as is, but today at work, I adapted it to include some chopped apples and some leftover oatmeal from breakfast. We were short on butter so I substituted shortening, we were short on raisins so I added some chopped apples as well, and I wanted to use up the leftover oatmeal so I reduced the amount of milk and applesauce and dumped the leftovers in. The cake is nice and heavy, moist and spicy, and really smelled wonderful baking. It tastes delicious warm from the oven, and I'm willing to bet it will be delicious cold, too. Oh, and I only used 1 teaspoon, rather than 1 Tablespoon, of baking powder.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: jannie5
This is really a wonderful recipe!! Moist and full of flavor. Doesn't need frosting at all. It's very much like banana bread but much lighter in texture. Melt in your mouth good!! I didn't change a thing. I baked it at 325 (I used my convection oven) for 60 min.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: kathyj
Very good moist cake and very close to what I made for special "MAN" birthdays years ago. I had lost the recipe and now will use this one, thanks. I made this in two 8" rounds with cream cheese frosting for my son's 31st birthday, perfect!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes