My Reviews (62)

Apple Sauce and Egg Noodle Kugel

This sweet kugel uses egg noodles and is is flavoured with vanilla and apple sauce. It is baked over a layer of sweet biscuit crumbs.
Reviews (62)


19 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: amu
This turned out very nicely. I used 1/2 cup of real butter(margarine is terrible for you), 1/2 cup less sugar, used 1/4 cup more reduced fat sour cream, used chunky spiced applesauce from trader joes, softened the raisin in the boiling water with the noodles, and used almost a cup of graham cracker powder and 1 tsp cinnamon mixed with 4 table spoons of melted butter and sprinkled that mixture on the top instead of on the bottom. I baked for 50 minutes. Next time I might even cut the sugar some more. I think the graham cracker "crust" prevented the noodles from getting dry and burnt. The crust was a nice golden brown - no burning.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: JLR84
I have never liked noodle puddings, but a favor to my mother inspired me to try this recipe - success! She called it the "best kugel I have ever had in my entire life." I still don't like most kugels, but this has become one of my favorite year-round dishes. I use only 1 C sugar, 8 oz of chunky applesauce, soaked sultanas (golden raisins), and no graham crackers crumbs. It is far less sweet and creamy than most kugels this way, and it really emphasises the appley-cinnamon flavour.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jan 2002
Reviewed by: A.M.
Excellent! I made mine with unsweetened applesauce and it was still sweet, just perfect.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Sep 2004
Reviewed by: Bubbect
it is excellent . i cut the sugar down to only 1cup and used SPlenda instead of sugar and no one knew. Everyone loved it .
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: rberkee
I brought this to a Yom Kippur break fast and people couldn't get enough! As suggested, I cut the sugar and used unsweetened apple sauce. My only complaint was the graham cracker crust turned a bit soggy--perhaps something else would have been better texture-wise.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 May 2003
Reviewed by: Corkygal
Really excellent recipe. I left out the sour cream because I hate sour cream and used milk and it did not change it all. It was so good and everyone ate it within minutes of it coming out of the oven!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: DAGRANDMA
very good - i used butter instead of margarine and cut it in half - should read melted.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: KAFFIR
This kugel is the third recipe I've tried so far and I just can't seem to find one that I like. The first two were not sweet enough and this one was too sweet. I used cranberry applesauce and more lemon juice because I like it tart, but I think I will cut down on the amount of sugar next time. Also, will cover with foil next time because the top part of my noodles "crispified" (burned). Thanks for sharing though.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: MMURKA
This was my first try at kugel, and it turned out perfectly. It was very easy and delicious. It also kept well in the fridge for a few days as we finished it. I will definitely make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Judy
This is an amazing dessert! My family ate it right out of the oven..it didn't even get to cool off I had to make a second one right away! A definate family and friend favorite Smells wonderful while baking!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes