My Reviews (14)

Apple and Pecan Cake with Hot Rum Sauce

A beautiful apple cake with pecans is made then served with a hot rum sauce making an warming winter dessert. The cakes can be made ahead of time if desired.
Reviews (14)


23 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: JUDYRAMIREZ
I dared to exchange the rum flavoring for the real thing, medium priced golden rum. It was delish! I scaled it down to 8 servings too, cause I wanted to share with family and friends, and not have too much left over, in case I got midnight cravings. heehee
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: CLMITCHELL
Oh My Goodness this is so good. I didn't have any rum flavoring or butter flavoring so I used 1/2 c real butter and 1/2 cup margarine and 2+ tsp real rum for sauce. This sauce is really good over vanilla ice cream too. I used Fuji Apples and pecans. YUMMO. It did take another 10 minutes to cook and I used a Pyrex dish so I was surprised it took longer.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: KCHAMIS
Oh my goodness! I substituted walnuts for the pecans and didn't use the butter flavoring... but oh, my... what a wonderful thing! At first I was a bit nervous because the batter was quite stiff - more like a dough than a batter. My company LOVED this. My daughter insisted that folks try it without the sauce (or whip cream!) stating it was just as yummy without. She was right! Thanks for a great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Aug 2001
Reviewed by: CHANNIE
I had to cook it 70 minutes, not 40. It turned out very moist and tasty.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Dec 2000
Reviewed by: MPJ
This is added to my favorite cake recipes. I recieved many compliments. We loved it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: Carla Brown
I followed the directions exactly and the results were a delicious and very moist cake. We ate the first slices of cake warm and then put it in the refrigerator. It was excellent either way.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: CYBERGIFTS
Delicious served warm with a scoop of Vanilla icecream.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: ROSECHASER62
This is the most Awesome cake I've ever had. I substituted real butter for the margarine and dropped the butter flavoring. I took the cake to work, where it was immediately gobbled up! I will definitely make this cake again, but for special occasions because of its sugar/fat content. YUM!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: blueknight34
I did this and added a pack (1/2 cup) of dried cranberries just because I like cranberries. Made two of them for a Work Group Christmas Dinner and their wasn't a bite left over. Everyone loved it. It might look like a meat loaf in the picture but it tastes awesome. So moist and flavorful. The prep time and sauce is a little extra work but well worth it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: peggy
this is a very yummy cake, was a big hit
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes