My Reviews (133)

Apple and Pecan Dessert Cake

I love this cake as a dessert with ice cream or vanilla yoghurt but also enjoy the leftovers as a normal cake the next day.
Reviews (133)


06 Nov 2004
I found this recipe when I was looking to use up a jar of apple butter a friend gave me. It is a great cake! I did some modifications; brown sugar instead of white; walnuts instead of pecans; instant oats instead of bran/wheat germ. Perfect for potluck or church socials - no messy frosting.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Dec 2000
Reviewed by: JMAGNENAT
It is delicious - I baked it in a bundt cake pan and it was also very pretty -
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: JBRISTOW
Wonderful, moist cake! A real treat. The batter was thicker than I expected and I thought I made a mistake, but the result was a big hit with everyone.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: LOVEPUZZLES
Very moist, delicious cake. Would make a good breakfast cake. I made mine in a bundt pan and layered with 1/2 crumb mixture, 1/2 batter, crumb, batter. Scrumptious!! I also made the 'All Day Apple Butter' recipe from this site and used it in this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
I made muffins out of this recipe. I used APPLE CIDER apple butter and I cut the sugar in the actual bread recipe in half. For muffins, there was a little too much topping (and imo, I think the topping needs butter, more like a streusel) but I'm not complaining. I can't stop eating it. Quite moist, slightly chewy and VERY flavorful, one of the BEST quick breads I've had in a long time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: Brynn Hanson
Outstanding recipe for a great coffee cake for a brunch. I added 1/2c. of cinnamon chips and a chopped Gala apple- Excellent!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: Healthy chef
The recipe as written has 2x as much sugar as I'd want! So minus a few stars for that. I made it healthier with whole wheat flour, reduced the butter a little, plain Greek yogurt instead of sour cream, and cut the sugar in HALF - it was still a little too sweet for my tastes. Otherwise it was moist and tasty, will make again - with less sugar.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: Mina Farahmandi Lewis
This was a good coffee type cake - but for me it was not as good as the "Graham Struessal" cake found on this site. I had given that cake FIVE stars and for some reason - I suppose because they are both coffee type cakes - everyone in my family said "It is not as good as the cake you made last week". I will probably just stick to that one - although this was tasty. So..because of that I need to give this FOUR!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: MIRVING524
I only made this to use up some applebutter but this recipe is a keeper. It is worth buying the apple butter just to make the cake. Delish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: abapplez
We love this cake! Soft, moist, tender and slightly dense with a perfectly spiced and crunchy topping/filling. I used toasted wheat germ and the "All Day Apple Butter" from this site and could not be happier with the outcome. This is perfect as written and there is no need to change a thing. Although not needed, I added a drizzle of caramel and it is wonderful with or without. Very happy that I found this recipe. It will be enjoyed often. Thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes