My Reviews (894)

Bulk White Bread

The quantities for this recipe make three whole loaves, so you can either reduce it or make extra loaves to freeze. It always comes out perfect for me.
Reviews (894)


Comment:
14 Jul 2008
BRITTANYR said:
Something else. Yummy bread and so easy in a mixer. I like to put the loaves in tins and place them in the freezer before they rise. Then I can have home baked bread any day I want. Just leave the frozen dough out in the morning to rise all day and bake it in the evening. This bread tastes good with everything, but be careful, it goes quick!
 
Comment:
25 Apr 2011
arentyoucute said:
Made it healthier. Well, I am a Chia seed nut. So, I did the recipe and added about an 1/8 cup of chia seeds. Then instead of making three loaves I halved the bread. Half were made into rolls fr lunch sandwiches. The other half I rolled out in the final punch down and then put sun-dried tomato past with basil, mozzarella, and diced bacon. Rolled it up and cut pinwheels. So, now the kids have pin wheel pizza for their lunches with the added goodness of chia. Thank you for the recipe, one of the better white bread recipes I have used and it alters exceptionally well!
 
Comment:
14 Jul 2008
Altered ingredient amounts. Absolutely incredible! We make this in the bread machine with the dough setting and it disappears within an hour of pulling it out of the oven. We generally only make a third of the recipe so it fits in the bread machine.
 
Comment:
14 Jul 2008
SPARRKER said:
Something else. This bread was delicious. There are only two of us so three loaves was too much. I cut the dough in thirds like the recipe says and used two for bread, and the third for a pizza base. I spread it out on a baking tray greased lightly with oil and let it rest for about fifteen minutes. I put my toppings on and baked it for 30 min. till the crust was browned. It was delicious. Will definately use this again.
 
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: FairyChick
This is a very good recipe. I love to bake bread and loath it when it comes out dense, not so with this one! Nice and light dough, soft chewy crust! Plain flour worked fine for me.
 
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: MSMYTH
I just got back into bread baking and have played around with a variety of recipes over the last couple months, and this is the one that does the best job, consistently so. Good, crusty bread, freezes well, and very hard to mess up. The touch of sugar makes the difference, I think.
 
03 Dec 2016
Reviewed by: varda
lol
 
26 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: arentyoucute
Stellar. Added a tweak because I added chia seed. Let's just say it handled the changed well with no other adjustments!!! P.s I have now made a pizza crust with chia seed and used olive oil instead of vegetable oil, it turned out fab. This is by far the easiest and most reliable bread recipe to date.
 
31 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: ykraith
I use this recipe for our home loaves and even when we have a loaf that doesn't rise properly it still is great.
 
18 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: K122Y
This is an excellent recipe and really easy to do. As a novice bread maker this was the first white loaf recipe I have used and I return to it every weekend to make up a fresh loaf for the week. I sometimes substitute 250grams of white high grade bread flour for 250grams wholewheat or granary flour. Still turns out yummy!
 

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes