My Reviews (487)

Twice Rise Bread

This is a basic white bread cooked in a bread machine but turned off after the first raising cycle so it gets two rises creating a much nicer bread.
Reviews (487)


14 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: ATEE
Just to add a note, about this fantastic bread, 18 TBS is 1 cup + 2 TBS.... 18 TBS is just time consuming. But sure can't beat the bread.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Oct 2000
Reviewed by: DJPALMER
Fresh out of the bread machine, this bread is absolutely delicious. The only drawback to the recipe, is the measurement for the water. It would be easier if it were converted to the standard measurement of 1 cup and 2 tablespoons.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: Nika
just cut into our loaf from this recipe.. beautiful on the light setting and quite lovely in the crumb. My machine runs two raises and then a proof run so i did not stop it and reset. Used King Aurthur unbleach bread machine flower and corn oil.. no other changes... came out divine. Lots of flavor. If you start out with GOOD flour you get good bread. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: alaskamom
I'm a first time bread maker and this came out great. I bake mine in the oven 350 for 25mins and it is perfect. This makes incredibly yummy grilled cheese sandwiches. Update: hubby gave me a Breadman breadmachine for my bday. I set it to basic loaf on rapid for crust setting. My machine has 3 rise cycles so I take the dough out just as it goes into the 3rd rise and form it in breadpan. Let rise again and bake as above. Done in about 2hrs with no problems. I do use about 3 cups of flour and probably a 1/4 tsp more yeast. I make this about every other day and my daughters hover around the oven waiting for their treat.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: Jaxmom35
I got this off Allrecipes about four years ago and have been using it ever since. It is perfect. Has become traditional for me to make everyone a loaf at Thanksgiving to have their leftover turkey sandwiches on. I use the easier measurment of 1 cup + 2 tablespoons for the water.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: TLC22170
My bread machine sat unused until I found this recipe. Now my kids tell me to not buy bread at the store anymore. They want me to make this bread. I have also given out loaves to neighbors and those neighbors told other neighbors about how good it was. Great bread recipe
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: DEEREMEL
This is great bread. My new everyday white bread recipe has been found!!! First time I made it the dough was very, very sticky and came out with a weird texture. So, the next time I added one extra tablespoon of bread flour. I mixed it in my bread machine (mine has two rise cycles) and then took it out, kneaded in one tablespoon bread flour and let it do the final rise in my bread pan for 55 minutes. I then baked it at 350 for 25 minutes. This bread is so delicous. Thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 May 2002
Reviewed by: HEATHERLING
This bread was what supermarket white breads strive to be. I was surprised at the softness of the crust. Usually I don't care for the crust of bread machine loaves but this one was awesome! My four year old daughter helped my make this so it is definately kid friendly and my eight year old son asked me to make this again instead of buying supermarket bread. I'd say that says it all.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: JoyLee
As soon as I made this loaf, I knew I had to have more, So I spent the day making amish bread! three loaves later and I love it!! High rising and no splitting. Kids love it with peanut butter and jelly. I like it warm with butter. GREAT!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: KJB357
I tried something different with this recipe and it didn't work too well. I did it on the dough cycle and baked it in the oven. I guess I didn't bake it long enough because the center was doughy. I outer pieces had a wonderful flavor. I am trying it again now and will bake it in the bread maker.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes