My Reviews (157)

Salami and Pasta Salad

Spiral pasta is combined with salami cubes, peas, olives, spring onions and celery to create this filling salad.
Reviews (157)


10 Mar 2001
Reviewed by: diggergirl
I'm the original creator of this recipe, Carol Emory. I did not want to star rate my recipe because I feel that would be unfair, however I want to clear up some modifications that were made to the recipe. I actually only use about half a cup of green onion and about 1 and 1/2 cups of petite peas. Italian parsley is best to use when making this (also know as broad leaf parsley.) I add the peas to the pasta in the last 2 minutes of cooking and rinse both to cool before mixing it together. Also, I've found that ranch dressing works best (especially when mixed with 1 cup mayonaise and 1 cup low-fat buttermilk.) The dressing has a better chance of staying creamy when buttermilk is used. And with the portions listed, I would use about a half cup more of dressing and serve the recipe to about 8. Thanks for the reviews everyone. I have more recipes on the way!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: Sarah
I created this version from everyone's suggestions. This was an awesome recipe. I would definitely make it again. Cook until Al Dente: 1 (16 ounce) package tri-color fusilli pasta 1 package chicken tortellini Mix: 1 bottle ranch/bacon dressing ½ cup mayonaise ½ cup sour cream Combine: Cooked and cooled pasta Sour Cream Dressing Mix 2 (2 ounce) cans sliced black olives 1 cup frozen petite peas, thawed 1 cup Hot pepperoni 3/4 cup chopped celery 3/4 cup chopped green onions 3/4 cup chopped red pepper 1/2 cup chopped fresh parsley 1/4 of a small bag Sun dried tomatoes, diced Provolone & Mozzarella cheese, cubed
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: GINAH1
I liked this recipe and I would definitely make it again-however, next time I will add more mayonnaise as the leftovers were a little dry the next day.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: CMIKUS
Honestly, the best creamy pasta salad. Fresh parsley and the dry italian dressing mix are definitely the key ingredients. I used more sour cream and less mayo and it was perfect. Everyone loved it. PS: You definitely need to reserve some dressing and add it when ready to serve.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: Jen Loftus
What an awesome summer salad! We had a family of 5 as guests this weekend and I wanted something bulky that could make it 3 days, this was it! I did modify it a bit though: I added chopped plum tomatoes,a small jar of roasted red peppers with a couple tablespoons of the juice, a 6 ounce can of olives I sliced in half, and a bit more of the dry salad mix. Wasn't dry at all - My husband said it's the best pasta salad he's ever had, and the 2 year old came back for more. Great recipe Carol!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: MOSHI8
I have made this many times since first coming across this recipe in 2001. The only modification I have made is I add cubed cheese as I can never get enough cheese. The last time I made it I could only find sliced salami, so I just cut each piece into fourths. This was by far the best and I will do this going forward. This is always a hit!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 May 2003
Reviewed by: ALOHALANI
SOOOO GOOOOD! I was tired of the same old pasta salad with the bottled Italian dressing, and boy was this salad a delicious change! What a wonderfully refreshing and simple dish! Made it in 15 minutes (chopped the veggies and mixed the dressing while the noodles boiled). I used rotele noodles, diced a half a cucumber, half a red bell pepper, and half a carrot. Minced 2 cloves garlic, and coarsley chopped a quarter of an onion (the onion flavor did not overpower the dish). Dressing was 3/4 C mayo, 3/4 C sour cream, 1/4 C milk, and 1 packet dry Italian dressing mix. That's it! I completely forgot to put salami, or pepperoni, but the meat was not missed, even by my extremely carnivorous boyfriend. Now even my vegetarian friends can enjoy the fantastic salad! I believe any combo of veggies will work wonderfully. Just use what's on hand. THANKS CAROL
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: IAMLIBBY
i have made this many times since first finding it. It is a FABULOUS recipe for hot summer night when no one really wants to eat. Even the kids love it ( and they do not like salad for dinner )! I used the Kroger- Private Selections Hard Salami ( I think it is a 16 oz. package way cheaper than the Genoa found in the regular lunch meat section cut into pizza like wedges) and a small bag of frozen baby carrots and a small bag of frozen petite baby peas , thawed and drained ( extras are for the next time) dice the celery don't chop it and add any of your favorite veggies, such as broccoli ( florettes), tomato,diced red pepper diced and red onion diced. Try it, you will love it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: GDOBRUSKY
Good pasta salad to eat during the heat of summer. Make the night before and enjoy for dinner the next day. I didn't change a thing in this recipe. But, I would suggest using tri-colored pasta noodles just to add some color to this mostly green dish. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 May 2001
Reviewed by: MOLSON7
I would not make this again. It was ok. The previous reviewers were right, it was way too dry and needed more milk. I doubled the dressing ingredients and it was still vey dry after being in the fridge. Regardless I did not think it tasted all that great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes