My Reviews (74)

Sweet Amaretto Cheesecake

A basic cheesecake is created with the flavouring coming from the amaretto liqueur. Chill in the fridge before removing from the pan.
Reviews (74)


24 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: TLBRAN
I love Amaretto & wanted to make a nice cheesecake for a catered event. I made a practice cheesecake & was disappointed--the cheesecake was too dense, not enough almond flavor, and the crust was a little skimpy. When I made the 2nd cheesecake, I made a few changes when also enabled me to used a 10" springform pan, instead of a 9" pan: (1)For the crust,I used 18 crushed graham crackers, 1/4 cup sugar, 6 tbsp butter & 1/2 tsp almond extract (I'll use gingersnaps next time); (2) I used 3 8oz pkg of softened cream cheese instead of 2 pkgs;(3)reduced cornstarch to 1.5 tablespoons; (4) added 1/2 tsp almond extract to the cheescake batter; and (5)added 1/3 cup toasted slice almonds as a garnish to the finished cheesecake. Everyone loved the appearance, flavor and texture of the cheesecake. Also, baking the cheesecake in a water bath is must---no cracks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: Youmna
I've made this cake several times, and have gotten rave reviews from it: even my mother, who usually dislikes cheesecake, loves this one. The ingredients and proportions in this recipe are perfect - don't change a thing! The baking time, however, is a problem: don't bake this only for an hour then take it out of the oven, you'll end up with a half-cooked heavy mess. I bake it for 52 to 55 minutes, *shut off the oven*, then leave the cake in for another hour and five minutes. This will cook the cake completely and prevent it from cracking while it does so. Allow the cake to cool before putting it in the fridge, and *leave it there* for a day - it'll taste divine. This cake is very light and creamy, and tastes wonderful. The recipe is definitely a keeper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: Dawndi
This recipe was very good when I tweaked it a bit based on other reviews. I didn't have all of the ingredients listed, so I made some changes. I used vanilla wafers instead of graham crackers for the crust, and Splenda for baking instead of the sugar in the crust, along with doubling the amounts of the crust ingredients. I also exchanged 8 ounces of sour cream for 8 ounces of plain lowfat yogurt, and used Neufchatel cheese instead of cream cheese. I used 1/2 cup of Splenda for baking along with 3/4 cup of sugar for the batter. I also used 1/3 cup of amaretto instead of the smaller amount in the original recipe. When baking, I used a 10 inch springform pan and baked it in a water bath. No cracking! I added an extra 5 minutes to the baking time because the extra amaretto made the batter a bit thin. After it was cooled, I made a glaze from 2 and 1/2 Tablespoons melted butter, 1 cup confectioner's sugar, 1 Tablespoon amaretto, and 1/4 cup chopped almonds. The cheesecake turned out wonderfully light and delicious! Everyone agreed that this tweaked recipe is a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Mar 2005
Reviewed by: VKARLSBROTEN
I made this yesterday and it was very good, but even tho I baked it as long as it said and left it in the oven, it cracked when I took the spring form pan off. No big deal I guess. It was 'fluffier' than I expected it to be. I love the super dense texture of traditional cheesecake. I suppose it was the sour cream instead of a 3rd pkg of cream cheese. The company raved about it anyway.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: OHYUMMERS!
Good cheesecake base, but i was expecting more amaretto flavor. I added about a 1/4 of a cup amaretto and baked it for 5 extra minutes. The cake turned out fine, very smooth, but still didn't feel as though it was flavorful. I might suggest topping the cake with an amaretto and sugar "glaze" to really get the flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: liljessyboop
Delicious cheesecake!!! my first attempt and this was absolutly amazing. I followed the previous tips and it worked out really well
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: Stephanie
This is my hubby's favourite cake. I make it for him every birthday. I also add a bit more amaretto, I've also added almond extract when I ran out of amaretto, both tasted devine. Trick to stop cheesecake form cracking is bake in water bath I do it every cheesecake recipe and never get cracking I also baked 55 mins and left in oven for hour after turned off.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: ggglitch
Very good cheesecake, but not the best Amaretto Cheesecake I've tasted/made. I followed the directions exactly with the exception of adding a bit more liqueur. The flavor of the cheesecake was phenomenal. The texture is quite dense, which I don't mind, but the cheesecake was a tad dry. Next time I will consider either using less sour cream, or adding more cream cheese. I baked for 55min, shut the oven off and left it in there for an hour before taking it out of the oven. I got rave reviews from friends and family though!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: Pink Manta
The result was very good, but as a lot of people before i made adjustments: i followed especially one previous review and added more crackers (i actually used 1/2 cup more of amaretto cookies), butter and sugar for the base and used a 10"pan. I also used yogurt instead of sour cream (to make /2 little lighter) and only 1 and 1/2 tsp of cornstarch. Definitly a keeper
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: zombified
Finished product was good, but make sure to follow another reviewer's revisions on the following page. Mine would have never turned out otherwise!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes