My Reviews (156)

Pasta Salad with Creamy Dressing

The salad consists of pasta, grapes, ham and spring onions; this is dressed with a combination of sour cream, mayonnaise and Dijon mustard.
Reviews (156)


06 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: GINNYG
I loved this salad, as did my hubby. I didnt change a thing and it was fabulous! The grapes are a nice addition...will make again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: MAGGIE MCGUIRE
I'm having a ladies luncheon on Saturday. The problem I have is they are all great cooks and have all tried every new recipe. I found this recipe to be something totally different. I know they'll just love it. I never serve anything new until I've tried it first. I have to say that this is wonderful! I increased the amount of dressing as others suggested; and anyone who knows me, knows I just have to add a cup of celery. I also left out the cheese and increased the grapes adding red as well as green. Oh my, how wonderful! I'm excited to have found a recipe that none of my friends have yet! Thanks Allison!PS I used seashell pasta. The shape seems to hold onto the dressing better than other shapes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: LisaH
FABULOUS RECIPE! I checked out everyone's recommendations first and then: doubled the sauce, also added halved grape tomatoes, julienned swiss cheese. Whatever you do, definitely double the sauce. YUM!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 May 2001
Reviewed by: MOLSON7
This was different. I followed everyone elses advice and doubled the dressing ingredients, otherwise it would have been way too dry. I also cut the cheese down to 1 cup, omitted the grapes and added a diced red bell pepper. The dressing has a stong dill taste. I thought it tasted better the second day. It was a nice change but I won't make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: YASAMIN
This salad was awesome! By far the tastiest pasta salad I have ever attempted. I noticed that in many of the other reviews, people said they omitted the grapes. I would highly recommend trying them, because they add a nice sweetness to the mix and really set this salad apart from others. The pasta shape I used is called Cellentani (I had never noticed it before. It's hollow like elbow macaroni, but has a long, spiral shape to it). The one thing I didn't like was the diced cheese - I thought the pieces were too big. Next time, I'll try using shredded or grated cheese. Thanks, Allison!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: PCTANDER
Very good salad. However, I don't understand why everyone wants to double the sauce. The recipe calls for 1 3/4 C. of pasta, which is hardly anything at all. After making the sauce, I realized I would need more pasta and cooked another batch. It was still plenty moist and I ended up cooking about 12 oz. of pasta.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: MOMTOKTL
This recipe is fabulous! I was skeptical of the grapes, but I'm glad I put them in---they really are tasty. I made this according to the recipe with the exception of using lemon juice instead of the vinegar (just because I didn't have any cider vinegar) and my guests and family loved it! I used deli sliced ham that I cut into small bites and I diced the cheddar very small. I also added carrots and cucumbers for some extra veggies. This is so good and easy, this is THE pasta salad I'll make from now on. Thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Sep 2003
Reviewed by: RRMURBAN
Made it four times now, we love it. Vinegar is key, I tried it once with lemon juice instead and it wasn't as good. Measured generous portions with the dressing, used light mayo and sour cream. Substituted chicken for ham (Perdue Shortcuts- precooked!) and red for green grapes. Cut back on green onions, added more dill. Bought pre-diced cheddar cheese and I'm done in 20 minutes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: GaryW
I made this for my family reunion and it was a big hit. Make sure you make it a day in advance.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: spicy837
Wow after making hundreds of recipes from this website this is my first review. I was not too sure of the combination of this salad, but I was very very surprised that it turned out much better than I had hoped!!!!! I was looking for something to use up some grapes. I never seem to eat grapes after the first time and they always to to waste. So I tried this recipes and I will definately make again. I made it almost as written. My only changes were white vinegar, because I didn't have cidar, and med. cheddar...because of preference. I really think the sauce is what makes it great but also really love the great combination of ingrediance!!! YUM
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes