My Reviews (393)

Oven Baked Bruschetta

Bread is topped with diced tomatoes, onion, oregano, basil, parsley and topped with parmesan then baked in the oven creating a pizza style bruschetta.
Reviews (393)


20 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: hmjennings
This is a good base for bruchetta recipe but there are a few things that are missing or can help make it better. First off, a little sugar really brings out the flavor of the tomatoes. Seondly I add a swirl of balsamic vinegar. I also sometimes add capers in for a nice touch. I also use a shallot instead of onion but either is fine. I do think it's important to toast the bread before putting the tomato mixture on there, otherwise it's too soggy. Just drizzle some olive oil on there and salt an pepper and then toast for just a few minutes. Gives it a nice crunch.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: Maggie
Everything about this recipe is great, except I feel it is missing one major ingredient: GARLIC! I added garlic to mine and it was wonderful.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: Anisha
I love this recipe and have been making it for years when I have people over...and EVERYONE always wants more. I have always made the same alterations as most people here- add some minced garlic! The other change I make is to toast the bread alone after i have brushed it with the olive oil. Once it is toasted (heres a trick I learned from a gourmet chef)- you cut 1 or 2 garlic cloves in half width-wise and rub it on the tops of the toasted bread before spooning the tomato mixture onto it. For a kid-friendly recipe, I sprinkle a bit of grated cheddar on top and throw them back under the broiler for 30-60 seconds... Try this recipe! Its wonderful!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: Tia the Baker
Garlic is a must for this recipe. I used a crusty french bread rather than italian bread. If you're thinking of trying this recipe, go for it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: LIZB78
very good -- I used much less onion, 3x as much basil, and I added garlic. 6 small Roma tomatoes made enough for a baguette (maybe 15 slices).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: Pookley
Best ever and so easy. Don't have fresh tomatoes? Use drained diced tomatoes from the can. Hard to tell the difference. We love this!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: BEHNENDL
Add the garlic and you can't go wrong. I fixed this with Baked Zitti and my dinner guest were ready to leave tips on the table.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: Kristina
Delicious! I added garlic to the recipe as well and used about twice the recommended amount of cheese for my cheese loving family. I had a few left over slices and they were even better the next day!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Sep 2003
Reviewed by: TENACIOUSONE
Wonderful and impressive. Made this for a party the other night and everyone loved it. I added garlic to this mixture. I love the way the vegetables have a soft roasted look to them. I have been sharing this recipe with others too. I made the mixture ahead of time and cut up the bread beforehand too, storing the bread in a plastic wrap. It was so easy to pop into the oven and within no time was done. Great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 May 2002
Reviewed by: PSYCH0GRL
I thought this was great! It was easy to make and tasted delicious, I'm definitely making this again! Maybe I'll use shredded cheese instead of grated next time, though.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes