My Reviews (264)

Creamy Broccoli Pasta Sauce

Creamy pasta sauces can be high in fats but this version uses skim milk and Parmesan cheese to create a creamy broccoli sauce.
Reviews (264)


08 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: JERUSHAGIRL
I know what the recipe is supposed to accomplish, but it just doesn't do it. When prepared as written, it'll take you forever to get the sauce to thicken and you'll end up losing so much of the sauce that you'll wonder why you bothered. And the sauce is just too bland. I spent as long trying to fix the recipe as I did making it. My basic suggestions are to replace the oil you saute the garlic and onions with "I can't believe it isn't butter". It makes a difference. Secondly, when making the sauce, first add 3 TBL of the butter substitute with the 3 TBL of flour, and heat and whisk it until the butter melts and the flour breaks up. THEN add the milk and the stock, s&p, whisking constantly as you bring the liquid to a boil. By the time it boils, the sauce will have thickened quite well (actually you might need to thin it a bit with more milk and stock) and you'll have made a basic white sauce. Then, add a dash of powdered mustard, red pepper, and garlic (the garlic flavor needs to steep into the mixture a bit better and more "Alfredo" like). I added basic Italian seasonings for fun. And I think I doubled the amount of Parm. cheese. I think most people will be far more pleased with the resulting sauce and it sure is a lot faster to make. Plus, since the sauce you make is a basic white sauce, you can add what you want without messing it up.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jan 2004
Reviewed by: LF
i was looking for a way to enjoy one of my favorites, alfredo, without the guilt trip that usually follows. this is the answer!!! this alfredo is creamy and YUMMY!! i used a can of evaporated skim milk, (plus about 1/2 c. skim milk- to equal 2 c.) to give it a little more creaminess. i think it also helps with the thickening, because i didn't have problems like other reviewers. fixing the broccoli with the pasta works great! i've served this with both shrimp and chicken; both get gobbled up quickly! this is a KEEPER!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: SweetBasil
Fantastic and so easy! I omitted the onion but added 4 more cloves of garlic and some red pepper flakes. Sauted 2 chicken breasts cut into strips with the garlic. Removed the chicken when browned and added flour and a little salt and pepper to taste. Cooked this roux for about 2 min. Then added the broth and 2% milk, brought to slow boil to thicken, added freshly grated parmesan and stirred to melt. Added chicken strips and allowed to heat through. Delicious - I can't imagine making a traditional Alfredo sauce - too heavy! Thank you Dorothy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jan 2002
Reviewed by: MOLSON7
This was ok. I had to use 2% milk it was all I had. The sauce took forever to thicken. I would just assume make the original.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: LJBEASLEY
Being from the south I made a rue adding the flour to the onion and garlic - then added the liquid. Since I made it with shrimp instead of chicken I left out the broth and added a bit more milk, salt and pepper. My husband loved it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Mar 2004
Reviewed by: ScullyKel
This recipe had incredible flavor. I used whole wheat pasta, and also added 2 cups of fresh chopped spinach when I made this and the dish was wonderful. Thanks for the great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Apr 2004
Reviewed by: Kristy Hopkins
YUM YUM YUM!!! This is a fantastic light recipe, you can't even tell that it's "light". I sauteed mushrooms with the onion & garlic, & added grilled chicken breast & it was wonderful! Thanks for a great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Jan 2004
Reviewed by: DEE S.
I followed some suggestions from other readers and omitted the onion and used 3 large cloves of garlic. This was so delicious and you didn't feel "cheated" as with some light recipes. This will be a regular at our house!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Apr 2004
Reviewed by: Gail Cobile
I've been looking for an easy, yet tasty Alfredo sauce I could use with broccoli, chicken, shrimp, etc., and this is perfect. I used Carb Counter milk (my guilty conscience)and cornstarch. It was delicious. Will add this to my recipe file for safekeeping!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Aug 2003
Reviewed by: familychef
What a fabulous recipe! I wasn't even looking for low-fat, but after reading the ingredients realized that they're sooo much cheaper than a traditional Alfredo, and are all things that I usually have on hand. Very flavorful - my husband and I both loved it (we added a grilled chicken breast to top it off). A skimpy half recipe was a good size for both of us, with a bit leftover.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes