My Reviews (256)

Sauted Prawns with Brandy Sauce

This is a delightful prawn dish with them being initially sautéed then topped with sautéed onion, garlic and parsley. Finely a brandy sauce is added.
Reviews (256)


18 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: szwytnas
This was absolutely the best shrimp scampi ever! it was simple, yet fantastic! If you follow the recipe its great. I threw some feta cheese on top of the shrimp before broiling it. You shouldn't rate the recipe based on your experience with it after changing the recipe. Its unfair for those who haven't tried it yet to consider it with a bad rating based on your recipe instead of the original one.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: KRAMNODROG
Great recipe for scampi. Tossed the brandy/wine mixture with some angel hair pasta, parmesan, red pepper flakes and poured the olive oil/shrimp over the top. It turned out great! The key with the shrimp is to fully butterfly them, dry them out using a paper towel, flour them and refrigerate before sauteing. Good luck and happy eating
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: MOLSON7
This wasn't bad but I have had better. I added more garlic. I also thought it needed some lemon and maybe a little butter. I will not make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: LisaRL
I have ordered shrimp scampi in restaurants plus I have also made it myself several times, but this recipe, by far, beats them all!!! It really does melt in your mouth. Subtle crispness on the outside and sooooo tender inside....yummmmmmmmm!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: RAAMOM
This was delicious! Instead of the brandy, I added a little half & half, white wine & flour. Topped w/ fresh parmesean cheese.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: grneyedmustang
I wasn't overly impressed with this recipe. It wasn't bad, but I felt like it was missing something. I will try it again, and maybe tinker with it a bit. Update (9/10) - I made this again, adding green onions and some lemon juice (1/4 lemon), and loved it. I also let the shrimp sit in the flour mixture about seven minutes before sauteeing, and added one small diced roma tomato to the garlic mixture - to imitate the scampi made at a restaurant famous for it's cheesecake. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: RogueOnion8
Good but not the absolute best. I made no changes to the recipe followed it percisely. It has great texture and flavor. I suppose I was hoping for something more garlicky and buttery (shrimp scampi served at Red Lobster). I'll keep searching though. I won't add this to my regular rotation but I will keep it handy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: neiciebeans
Very delicous. We added 1 T lemon juice at the end. We used butter instead of olive oil. No brandy in the house, but still very yummy. How to chop fresh parsley??? Trim stems and cut parsley using kitchen scissors in a small, tall sided bowl. Makes the chopping process so much easier. Will make again and again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: Heather H
I love seafood and am a big "food snob." This recipe is excellent. I would definitely serve it at a dinner party.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: Tyler K
This recipe is amazing. My girlfriend now INSISTS I make it at least once a month! If your looking for a great shrimp scampi recipe, this one will not dissapoint.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes