My Reviews (106)

Classic Tuna Salad

Tuna salad is a beautiful filling for sandwiches. This recipe combines a tin of tuna with gherkin relish, mustard, celery and onion for some real zing.
Reviews (106)


23 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
Eh. It's just a basic tuna salad. We don't like sweet relish so I used dill. To stretch it for four sandwiches, I threw in two chopped hard boiled eggs, added another stalk of celery and threw in more chopped onion and relish. To add "zest", I threw in a couple shakes of Frank's Hot Sauce, dried dill, garlic/onion powder, and paprika. This did need more mayonnaise. It's a cheap sandwich filling (I appreciate this because we're really broke and need a cheap lunch that stretches well) but zesty as it sits? Not really.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 May 2005
Reviewed by: WONK
No where near enough mayo, way way too dry! Where is the Zesty? Very disapointing bland tuna. Added granulated garlic, more mayo and a dash of dill weed to save it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Feb 2000
Reviewed by: Jannae
Really easy. Makes a great, quick lunch. Wonderful alternative to plain old tuna salad.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Mar 2001
Reviewed by: VIKISMOM
I added a little shredded carrot and topped it with sliced cheese and served it on toast. Nummy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: benbest
I'm not tuna salad expert, but I'd say 4! We picked this one based on the basic ingredients and it worked out great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Feb 2005
This was excellent. It had such a great taste to it. I will be making this again and again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 May 2009
Reviewed by: Jenn
This tuna salad was a little dry for my liking and I have to say if your not a huge sweet relish lover, then try using dill relish if you like that better. Next time I will add more mayo and dijon and try dill relish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: Paula Taylor
I was very surprised at how good this was with so few ingredients! Quite tasty! I followed the recipe except had to use dill instead of sweet as that is what I had! What a great way to enjoy tuna salad quickly!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: Claudette P Henry
Very basic, but yet tasty, I did not add the pickle relish, but added a couple of pinches of sharp cheddar cheese. and I added 2 tbs of low fat mayo instead of one. Topped on triscuit crackers for a quick and easy snack/lunch.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Mar 2005
Reviewed by: Kristie
I agree with one of the previous reviews, I don't get it. Pretty standard, boring tuna salad. In the defense of those who liked it I did use a light mayo. I don't see that sub making a huge difference but you never know. The recipe was not bad, it just tasted like the tuna salad I've always had, nothing really new.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes