My Reviews (106)

Classic Tuna Salad

Tuna salad is a beautiful filling for sandwiches. This recipe combines a tin of tuna with gherkin relish, mustard, celery and onion for some real zing.
Reviews (106)


14 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: Jillian
I made this again for lunch today and it was delicious! I added a little garlic powder and increased the mayo. I actually use lite mayo and finely chopped red onion. This is good with or without the dill pickle. Serve it on toast or with a garden salad inside a hollowed out tomato or red pepper and it's a lite lunch that's attractive and good for you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Dec 2003
Reviewed by: Erimess
I don't get it. I hate having to give bad reviews, and I quite frankly don't understand some of the high ratings... this is called "zesty"? I thought this was the most boring tuna salad I've ever had. It was extremely dry and completely tasteless.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: LEE51
Very good basic recipe. To make it really zesty add 1 tsp (or more)crushed red pepper or 1/4 tsp (or more) cayenne pepper. Also, for variety, I sometimes add chopped black olives and/or jalapeneo peppers and/or garlic and/or cheddar cheese ..... The possibilities are endless.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: MAGGIE MCGUIRE
This is an excellent variation on the old standby tuna salad. My family loved the addition of onions and Dijon! Yummy served on Country Seed Bread, this site. We'll be eating more tuna salad for lunch. Thanks Sandi.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jun 2004
Reviewed by: Jamie Wagner
I've used this recipe using Tuna or Chicken - both get good reviews. I do doctor it using fresh lemon juice, more mayonnaise, chopped garlic plus fresh snipped parsley to give it more zing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Feb 2001
Reviewed by: LINDY859
I liked this recipe and will make it again, it tasted great on toast. However, I used 2 tsp of the Dijon Mustard and 1 1/2 tsp's of the relish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: KREESTINA
I'm not a big celery fan so I left that ingredient out. Otherwise this is a great tuna salad recipe, I especially enjoy the onions in it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: momof2angels
This is a very good recipe but just my opinion to make it zesty for those who complain that it is not... I dont add regular salt in mine,,, i always put in tony chacheres creole seasoning. it doesn't take much and it brings out so much flavor. I also put in hard boiled eggs. tuna salad is naked to me without them!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Sep 2003
Reviewed by: Laura White Lybarger
The mustard and relish helped me forget that I didn't use as much mayo as I normally do. I left out the onions and celery and it was still delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: wilco
I used albacore, but that was the only change. It was really tasty!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes